Tuna Tartare Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
The recipe as is, is somewhat bland. I took the suggestions from the other reviewers and added 1 scallion, 2 tsp tamari sauce and subbed one tbs of sesame oil for olive oil. It was very good... Would add another 1/4 tsp wasabi next time. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this and took Fun Foody's advice and did the won to wrapper thing. I used wasabi powder and it wasn't very spicy. It all turned out pretty good. I am in Tx. I can't wait to go to California and make this with some really fresh Tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe was a good base, but I knew some things had to be adjusted to ensure a more flavorful dish. I replaced the olive oil with toasted sesame oil, added some green onions and about a teaspoon of minced garlic, and added a tablespoon of rice vinegar. The mixture chilled for at least an hour before serving. I served it with homemade corn tortilla chips, but wontons would be fantastic too. I also served it with diced avocado on the side as an optional add-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I added some jalapeno and green onions, soya sauce and some of spicy mayo from the japanese sushi bar at the grocery store. much better and then let it sit for 30 mins in fridge. i cut up some avocado and paired it with that and some fresh made tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Fantastic!!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this as written and it is very, very bland which is not what I was looking for. I doctored it up w/ some soy sauce, chopped sweet onions, and nori furikake and it tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Pretty bland. I added ponzu sauce to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Took this to a dinner party as an appetizer- it was a huge hit! I pressed the tartar into a bowl to create a mold, flipped in onto a small dish and served on a platter with sesame wontons which they devoured. I also substituted 1tbls. of tamari for oil and added a tsp. of chopped onions. Sesame wontons are easy: cut wontons diagonally to make triangles.(Make at least 48pcs. people love them!) Arrange on a cookie sheet with parchment(or lightly oiled). Spray or brush lightly with olive oil and sprinkle sesame seeds. Bake at 350degrees for 5-6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I've tried this twice and it's really a good recipe. The second time I used white sesame oil instead of the olive oil and also added a bit of thinly sliced green onions and just a bit of finely minced garlic. Great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Great recipe for fresh tuna. I really liked the simplicity of the dish! SO easy. I would have liked an additional flavor to the tar tar, however. I'm not sure what it might be, but I will definitely experiment with this again. 06/20: I tried this out on my boyfriends best friend, aka the human garbage disposal. He LOVED this with extra wasabi paste added to the top. He said that if I ever make this again to call him, he'll devour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Cashew Tuna Tartare

See how to make spicy tuna tartare with toasted cashews and coconut milk.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States