Tuna Salad With Fresh Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Wow! I am a self-proclaimed tuna hater and only made it for someone else. Well, of course you must sample prior to serving and my only regret is that I didn't make enough for me. It really only makes two hoagies worth. But hey, it won me over anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I don't really care for tuna, but even I liked this! I added maybe a tablespoon of minced dill pickle to the mix and served it on multi-grain toast. My husband liked it so much he asked for seconds in his lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Made this last night and enjoyed it quite a bit. The flavor is much different than your run of the mill tuna salad- it tastes much more "fresh" and healthy. I really liked that a lot. I used dried dill instead of fresh and not quite as much. Was excellecnt in mini- pitas, but I bet it would be better in hollowed out tomatoes. Thanks so much for the recipe jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I also substituted light sour cream for the yogurt, and added just a dab more of mustard and use low-fat miracle whip. I used a 3 oz tuna packet in place of the canned tuna. Great lunch recipe -- is very light and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Good basic recipe, but I used 1 1/2 tsp spicy brown mustard, 1 1/2 tsp dried dill and 2 tsp dried parsley. I also added 3 hardboiled eggs, chopped, and adjusted the mayo/sour cream after adding. Depending on your brand of tuna, you may want to add salt. Took it to church in little cream puff shells- came home with an empty plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Dill certainly adds an interesting kick to this tuna salad. I loved the combination, and will make it again for the upcoming party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I didn't have chives or yogurt so I just put extra dill and mayo and added fresh squeezed lemon. Came out real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
pretty good, and i cut out the mayonnaise and added more yogurt accordingly. a bit of cayenne as well. i don't know about everyone else, but this wasn't 5 servings for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
My two star rating, I believe, speaks for itself. But to elaborate, I had a number of issues with this unappealing tuna salad. First, it was mushy and gushy…and I used only part of the juices in the can. My suggestion? Eliminate it altogether. With the exception of the celery, this was waaaaay too “green”… and I used probably less than half of the parsley, dill and green onion called for. (Curiously, chives were mentioned in the recipe’s description but green onion called for in the ingredients) The yogurt added nothing positive in my judgment and, since a bunch of canned tuna liquid is already included, only served to make this even gushier. The immense amount of parsley, green onion and dill overtook the tuna altogether, not only in taste but in sheer volume – one almost had to hunt and peck to find the specks of tuna before I added another can to adjust. The Dijon mustard was a nice idea, but there wasn’t enough – again, it was clouded over by the “green.” One would have thought this would have been packed with flavor, but instead it was lacking. A little pepper helped but was a trivial correction. Finally, because of all the green stuff it was just plain unattractive – it does not make you want to dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Great tuna salad - I used light mayo instead of fat free and added a bit of fresh squeezed lemon juice. I let this chill for an hour before serving on whole grain toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States