Tuna Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I was in the mood for a tuna salad/casserole, but because of allergies I can't eat egg, dairy or pasta. This was a decent alternative. I did make a few adjustments. I made brown rice with garlic powder then added salt. I layered the following: 1/2 of rice, half a sauteed onion, a can of hunt's fire roasted tomatoes w garlic, tuna, lots of moz cheese, rest of rice and a little more salt and garlic (i like garlic). I'll probably make this again, but with and entire sauteed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
never would have imagined this would be good --so, basically followed the recipe, used brown rice though, and cooked it in veg broth and garlic, then added tuna, dried onion and tomatoes from my garden - maybe used a little more mozz than called for. also added a bit of johnnys doc - its a tacoma thing but lawrys is similar - seriously delicious. weird, granted, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Something just wasn't right about this one. I don't think tuna and rice belong with tomatoes. We had trouble finishing it, and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was not a bad meal it was just boring. There was not much flavor. I even flavored my rice using chicken boullon cubes. I cooked the garlic and onions before hand in a little olive oil and basil, I also added lots of salt and pepper. It was pretty boring and I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I took someone's suggestion and substituted Uncle Ben's wild rice and then someone else suggested sauteing the onion and garlic first. It turned out pretty well and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I changed lots of things in this recipe, and loved it! First, I sauteed one onion and 4 garlic cloves on a pot. I added one large green pepper, a stalk of celery, and a can of tomatoes. To this I added 3/4 cup of rice, and one cup of water. i added two cans of tuna to the mixture. I added a dash of mustard seed, some thyme, some basil, and ground pepper. I let everything simmer for about 40 mins, untill it not longer looked like soup. I served it in a pasta bowl, sprinkled with ground pepper to taste, and salt, and shredded old cheddar cheese. YUM!!! just remember you need lots of pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Ya know, I don't like to waste food and I'm not a picky eater, but I couldn't finish this. Something just wasn't right...neither eye appeal, scent, texture or flavor. I do enjoy trying new things, but this is one of the few to scratch off the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Great for a quick & easy meal right out of the pantry. Substitute white instant rice for chicken flavor Rice-A-Roni. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
one word-yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States