Tuna Pita Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Pretty good, minus the relish. The pita came out too hard also. Other than that, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
yum! this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
OK, so 2 cans of tuna made 2 pitas for me. Maybe I'm weird, but I like a lot of tuna on my melts! So for me it was 4 servings (with the pitas cut in half). I used sweet pickles instead of the dill relish and left out the salt. I also used way more than 2 Tbsp of mayo - again, I gotta taste it! Love the tomato! Nice alternative on the traditional tuna melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Really good! Just made it for me, so I used a whole wheat pita pocket and mixed 1/2 a can of tuna with nonfat mayo, coleslaw mix, 1/2 tsp. dill weed and 1/2 tsp. all purpose salt free seasoning. Topped with nonfat cheddar cheese. I think I would use more seasoning next time. Easy and very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by áßßy nðrmàl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The recipe didn't state if the filling was to be put inside the pita. However, the picture shows it as an open-face sandwich so I split my pita and then toasted it in the oven. You would also be hard pressed to get 6 servings out of this. Some reviewers commented that it was too salty. I made the recipe exactly as specified (except I used a slice of provolone cheese) and didn't find it salty (and I'm not a salt person). I couldn't really taste the dill so I would either leave it out next time or maybe add more. I would probably also increase the relish--I could taste it but it was pretty mild. I would add onion to give it a little kick. This was very easy to make and I will do so again (although I will probably double it), perhaps tinkering with it just a bit. It would also make a great cold sandwich--stuff in a pita and top with chopped tomatoes, shredded cheese or anything else (someone mentioned raisins and sunflower seeds were good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I had great expectations for this recipe after reading all the rave reviews, but it came out disappointing. The toppings were good, I even added slivers of onion, but pita bread just did not work out being baked in the oven. It came out way too crispy and hard, especially after following the suggestions to bake the sandwiches a little longer to make sure the tuna mixture was hot enough. I used 3 cans of tuna and increased the mayo, relish, and dill weed accordingly to cover 6 pitas. I also sliced up two tomatoes and used 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese. However, I'll be sticking to tuna burgers (made with hamburger buns) from now on if I want to make a hot alternative to a cold tuna sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is very satisfactory for a Friday nights aupper. My wife and I both liked this. I will make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Love tuna melts! This one is very good, less fat than a traditional tuna melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe is very yummy! When you're in the mood for something a little different than just plain old tuna. I didn't have cheddar on hand so I used shredded velveeta and it was really great!!! Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Blodgett O'Rourke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stephens City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States