Tuna Noodle Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I think my husband and I must be the only two people on Allrecipes.com who did not grow up on tuna casserole. Even though I didn't think it really sounded very good, it appeared so easy to make and so many people raved about it, I decided to give it a try. It was indeed easy to prepare. But the taste was, unfortunately, about what I expected . . . very lackluster. My husband, whose philosophy is "if you can't say anything good, don't say anything at all," had only the following comment . . . "I really like the crunchiness in this." He was referring to the crushed croutons. When I asked if he thought I should keep this recipe and make it again sometime, he changed the subject and never gave me an answer. I wonder if the nostalgia aspect of this dish is a major reason why so many people think it is so great. Here is my take on it. If you had it as a kid and loved it, you'll probably love this recipe. If you didn't grow up on tuna casserole, you'll probably wonder what all the hullabaloo is about when you taste this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
this was my first tuna casserole and it turned out great! instead of the croutons i used breadcrumbs mixed with some italian seasoning and garlic powder and i added a few chopped onions and yellow peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great recipe. I use 1/2 cup of milk and breadcrumbs instead of croutons. Sometimes I use Swiss cheese instead of cheddar. And sometimes I add peas and pearl onions. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Instead of canned tuna wtih cream of mushroom soup, I used canned chicken and cream of chicken soup. I keep everything else the same. It turned out great, plus it was really easy. I think I liked it better reheated the next day when all the flavors soaked together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I started out making this recipe, but after hearing cries of, "But we don't like tuna!" the casserole became a chicken noodle casserole. I used egg noodles, carrots, celery, onion and green pepper. I also just prepared a white sauce since I didn't have any cream soups in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was too soupy with no flavor. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
use more cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elicia Trammell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was great. Sure it's just tuna noodle casserole, but it was really great! The only change I made was I used cream of zuchinni instead of cream of mushroom, but only because I had that on hand. Made it for my Belgian husband (who has never eaten this before and thought the idea was disgusting!) and he loved every bit of it - even ate the leftovers the next day! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
great idea but it needs a little something like other users I normally try the original recipe at least once but I knew this one needed a litle twist. I added some frozen peas that had been blanched in cool water,pepper, salt, and used about 1/4 C milk. Season crushed crutons were great! It reminds me of my nanny's homemade tuna noodle casserole with the extra's onions would probably be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I don't know if they meant condensed milk when they said canned milk. But I just used regular milk. Per other suggestions I only used a 1/4 cup. I added onions, carrots, and peas to this recipe. It was a pretty bland recipe but can easily be dressed up. It needs salt (and I'm not crazy about salt). In my own dish I put garlic salt and a lot of crushed red pepper and it tasted good. I would make it again but I would add more spice prior to cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamraarruda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States