Tuna Noodle Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Based on others feedback, I used 1 Cup of regular milk. Then I added 1/2 Cup of frozen peas, used only 1 and 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, then added lots of black pepper. Lastly, I used crushed saltines for the topping. A wonderful 1950's dining experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Deeelicious!! My boyfriend asked me to make him a tuna noodle casserole like he had when he was a kid. I decided on this recipe because it seemed basic and traditional. It was not a mistake to go with this. Super easy and very tasty. Got lots of compliments. I just added a little more tuna and some canned peas. He even asked me for leftovers again tonight, and he never eats leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Yummy,Yummy this was a great recipe. This is my favorite tuna casserole yet I only changed a couple of things. Instead of leaving the onions raw I sauted them with one stalk of clerey. Since I didn't know what to do with the left over evaporated milk I used the whole can. Instead of American Cheese I used a Edam. It turned out very creamy and moist. Will defenetly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipe just saved my life! Well, maybe that is an exageration but it definately saved me money. This was tasty! I halved it and it still made tons..substituted bread crumbs for potato chips and topped it with sliced tomatos. I also tried low fat, low sodium cream of celery but I think that regular would be the better...oh, and I also tossed in extra spinach, onions, and peas...very excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
When I made this I doubled the amount of tuna, added more cheese, and added a splash more evaporated milk that what was called for. It turned out very good. I'll definitely make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! The only thing I did different was to substitute the shredded American cheese for shredded cheddar/mozzerella/taco mix that was left over from tacos the night before. It was only half of what the recipe called for, but I thought it was definately enough. I will make this one again! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Swope-Meader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I don't get all the positive reviews here. I am not a chef by any stretch of the imagination, but this is bland bland bland. All the people who seem to love it have changed the recipe. That's what makes these recipes on this site frustrating. You see four or five stars and think "Oh, this must be wonderful"...and then you read the reviews and people have turned the recipes into completely different concoctions. Oh well. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This was great!! It was just a bit dry for for our families taste, so I will probably add more soup next time. The left overs seem very dry but if you just add some milk to it and microwave it. It brings out the creamyness.. Great Tuna Casserole !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRASHER

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really wanted to make this less carb-y so I cut back on the pasta a little and added in some chopped red bell pepper, chopped zucchini and some shredded carrot. I did saute the vegetables (including the onion called for in the recipe) in a little butter/evoo before adding it to the casserole ingredients. We don't like american cheese so I used a cup of extra sharp cheddar. I made sure it was extra sharp WHITE cheddar so I could use less of it but still know it's in there--this way it cuts back on some of the fat in this recipe. After mixing up the pasta with all the other "casserole" ingredients, I did add in another half cup of milk as well as some fresh ground pepper. It seemed to need it, I could just kind of tell. The milk I used was fat free evaporated milk, again to cut back on the calories. The potato chips I used on top were sour cream and onion kettle chips. I didn't have much more than a scant half cup of this with a side of vegetables but the kids both had seconds. They didn't even notice the pasta missing or vegetables in it's place. I'll make this again, though I think it needs more tuna. Good base recipe--I really fought with myself wether it needed three or four stars. It's really right in the middle. Three and a half? I know I changed a bit but it was all to make it healthier or less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Being tight on money, I looked for an economical yet delicious recipe. This was it! It was so simple, everything was on hand and my family devoured it! I used cheese slices since I didn't have the shredded and I think it made it even cheesier and more wonderful! Loved the potato chip topping! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States