Tuna Noodle Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Made this one evening when I didn't have a lot of time, and not only was it easy, but it was also delicious! This was the first time I had used crushed potato chips as a topping, as I had always thought that particular topping would be too salty. It was salty, but not overpoweringly so. Next time I make this dish I may try crushed cornflakes with maybe a bit of garlic and onion powder, along with more of the paprika. There are several possibilities for toppings, including panko with melted butter or crushed crispy onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
A good starting place... I shouldn't really rate the recipe, because I used the tips of others and made something different. I used farfalle (bow tie) pasta, 16 oz. bag, 1 can 2% evaporated milk, 1 box Trader Joe's condensed portabello mushroom soup (very flavorful), 2 c jack cheese, lots of fresh ground pepper, about a cup of mild Maui onion chopped fine, 2 7-oz cans of albacore tuna and about a cup of frozen peas. For the topping I used bread crumbs mixed with butter, salt, and pepper, and reserved a bit of the cheese to mix into it. My version was very good comfort food, neither dry nor runny. I'm always trying to sneak more veggies into my casseroles. Next time I'll try adding chopped asparagus to the pasta water at the end of cooking. Other possibilities are red and green sweet pepper and scallion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I thought this was a little dry. Next time I would add more milk. Someone else here suggested adding a little milk to the leftovers before microwaving. Also, I used 2 cans of Bumblebee chunk white tuna. It was awful, not a chunk to be seen but just a lot of flaky bits and very fishy tasting. Next time I will use the good solid white albacore you can get at Costco (Kirkland). Nice big pieces of tuna and not fishy at all. I also reduced the cheese to about a cup and a half. I will definately make this again but just be careful of the brand of tuna. It's worth it to pay a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magalia, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Mikey/Jess and I really liked this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a delicious casserole..I lightened it up a bit and made a few changes to it. I only gave it 4 stars because I think it would have been quite dry without my changes. I used Ronzoni Smart Taste egg noodles, 1 1/2 cups of skim milk, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, 3 cans of albacore tuna and fat free shredded cheddar cheese. I also used a whole onion and topped it with reduced fat Ritz crackers. Yum! The whole family loved it. Very creamy and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My boyfriend said, "This is better than my mom's tuna casserole". What more needs to be said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My 38 year search for the perfect tuna noodle casserole recipe is over. I am the biggest tuna noodle casserole snob, and found this recipe AWESOME. It's VERY creamy and has great flavor. I also added peas like other viewers. Will be making this again over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Used much less cheese. Could use salt/seasoning and a little more sauce. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I don't get all the positive reviews here. I am not a chef by any stretch of the imagination, but this is bland bland bland. All the people who seem to love it have changed the recipe. That's what makes these recipes on this site frustrating. You see four or five stars and think "Oh, this must be wonderful"...and then you read the reviews and people have turned the recipes into completely different concoctions. Oh well. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was my first attempt at tuna noodle casserole and it was very good. It's not something that sounds good to me but my husband requested it so I gave it a shot. I made some substitutions based on the reviews and what I had on hand. I used 2 cans of soup and 1 can-ful of fat free milk. I used about 2 cups of velveeta. I only cooked my noodles for 6 or 7 minutes because I HATE mushy food. They came out perfect after 15 minutes in the oven. I covered half the casserole with potato chips and half with frenches onions. The onions were the house favorite. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States