Tuna Noodle Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Despite being in my 40's and living in the hot dish capitol of the world (Minnesota), I have never made tuna casserole! My daughter requested it "just like grandma made." I've never had hers and chose this recipe based on the comments. This was wonderful! I did add about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, an extra can of tuna, and used what I had for cheeses (fat free cheddar and mozzarella). And since I didn't have any potato chips, I sprinkled panko bread crumbs on top. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I was soo happy with my results. Creamy, flavorful,perfectly satisfying. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Very simple, easy-to-follow recipe. Great one for adding your own touch. As is, I think it's a bit bland. I used two cans of tuna, upgraded the cheese to smoked gouda (tasty and melts beautifully), and used a cup of whole milk instead of the evaporated milk. Also, I used french fried onions instead of potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Not a bad tuna casserole. I used yellow cheddar and added frozen peas. My onions were undercooked and a little overpowering. If I make this again I will omit the onion and add a few less noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My family really likes this tuna casserole. I like to add frozen peas but keep everything else as is. Great comfort food! Perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really wanted to make this less carb-y so I cut back on the pasta a little and added in some chopped red bell pepper, chopped zucchini and some shredded carrot. I did saute the vegetables (including the onion called for in the recipe) in a little butter/evoo before adding it to the casserole ingredients. We don't like american cheese so I used a cup of extra sharp cheddar. I made sure it was extra sharp WHITE cheddar so I could use less of it but still know it's in there--this way it cuts back on some of the fat in this recipe. After mixing up the pasta with all the other "casserole" ingredients, I did add in another half cup of milk as well as some fresh ground pepper. It seemed to need it, I could just kind of tell. The milk I used was fat free evaporated milk, again to cut back on the calories. The potato chips I used on top were sour cream and onion kettle chips. I didn't have much more than a scant half cup of this with a side of vegetables but the kids both had seconds. They didn't even notice the pasta missing or vegetables in it's place. I'll make this again, though I think it needs more tuna. Good base recipe--I really fought with myself wether it needed three or four stars. It's really right in the middle. Three and a half? I know I changed a bit but it was all to make it healthier or less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I feel like I must have done something really wrong - I did put in 16 oz of noodles but then added 1 cup of milk - those were the only changes and it turned out DRY and the onions -RAW. I could try to make this again but I think I will be trying a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The best tuna noodle casserole I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Great recipe for this classic! Just like my mom used to make when I was a kid, right down to the chips on top. Comfort food at its finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
not my fav. it's dry, bland and the onions were still crunchy after 20 minutes. This is one recipe that needs tweaking. Terrible as leftovers too. I will not make this again. bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States