Tuna Noodle Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I made this dish today. It was good, but needs adjustment. I used two cans of tuna, and with 8 oz of noodles, it requires more cheesesauce or at least a thinner one. My casserole was dry. Thin the cheese sauce with milk to make it creamier or use less noodles. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I had to doctor up the sauce with seasonings to get some kind of flavor into it. Also, the amount of liquid stated would have left me with a very dry casserole, so I tripled the sauce and it was perfect. I topped the casserole with buttered Panko crumb and some parm cheese. This recipe has the makings of a good dish, but you really need to play around with it. Thank you Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I never thought I would like Tuna Casserole made without Mushroom soup. Boy was I wrong! This was fantastic! I doubled the sauce and added a few splashes of Frank's to it. I used frozen peas and a big can of tuna and I added a can of mushrooms. So good with a sprinkle of french fried onions on top. YUM! thanks for the great recipe Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
this is an excellent base recipe. i doubled the cheese sauce and also used half cheddar half provolone. i cooked some mushrooms, red peppers, onions, and garlic in olive oil and steamed a little broccoli and added all that in at the same time as the tuna and noodles. i also used two cans of tuna. i baked club crackers and parm cheese on top for about an hour. it was excellent and my boyfriend was excited to have leftovers to bring to work! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Yum! Yum! Yum! I doubled the sauce recipe, but still only used the one can of tuna and one bag of noodles. I used kraft sharp cheddar cheese in the block- no need to shred, just slice it thin. I used almost the whole 8oz block of cheese since I doubled the sauce. I think the kraft sharp cheddar cheese tastes best -better tasting than the already shredded packs of cheese. I also used frozen peas. Served my family of 5 and still have leftovers for next day lunch. I will make this again. A keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Excellent recipe, I too am grateful to see a recipe for Tuna Noodle Casserole that is made without a can of soup. Definitely tastes "like mom used to make it." Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This was really good! I was looking for a tuna noodle casserole recipe without the canned soup that has all that salt. The white sauce was easy and good. I added 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and onion powder and used soy milk. I topped it with bread crumbs. I didn't have any peas to add and this was still delicious! I will make this again and next time I will add the peas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I made this last night for my family and very picky brother! It was devoured. I liked this recipe because it is a great starter. Add whatever tastes you like...cayenne pepper, salad supreme seasoning, cumin, green chilis, sweet bell peppers, water chestnuts, mushrooms, etc. My kids ate it mild and my husband poured on the pepper and cayenne for more spice and flavor. Even the picky brother had seconds! I also added a heaping spoonful of sour cream just to make the texture more creamy and soul satisfying. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I only used half of the recommended egg noodles and the recipe turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
Mmmmm...yummy. I used a cheddar/jack blend and it was very nice and creamy. I used large shells as well. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States