Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
not a huge fan of tuna casserole but we really enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADMURRAYSMUNCHIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I used this as a foundation for my own version of a "from scratch" recipe. I used a butter flavored cooking spray - gave a hint of that rich butter taste and made serving a breeze. My goal was to eliminate the mushrooms (can't stand them) while upping the creaminess and flavor. I added a splash of white wine to the melted butter when I cooked the onion and celery, and skipped the fresh garlic. Taking the advice of others, I increased the sauce, and it was a perfect balance to the amount of noodles (9 oz). In making the Bechemel I used what I had on hand (1 cup of light cream and 1.5 cups of skim milk), adding in seasonings (red pepper flakes, thyme, garlic powder, and nutmeg) and some cheesy goodness (1/4 cup each of cream cheese, parmesan cheese, and cheddar cheese). I added 3 cans of solid white albacore tuna because it seemed too cream heavy. I used a can of peas (again, what I had on hand) and think the brightness of frozen peas would have been much preferred. I also would add an extra half cup of the peas in the future. For the topping I crushed up wheat crackers, mixed with the melted butter and added a cup of shredded cheddar. It fit perfect in a 9x13 pan. I found it FAR superior to the regular out-of-a-can version, with a much creamier and richer flavor. Somehow the sauce seemed to cut out that usual fishy smell and taste. While I loved it, my boyfriend said he could see no difference from the usual. But he rarely raves about tuna anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Surprisingly good. I've never made tuna noodle casserole, but my husband has mentioned how much he liked it in childhood. I cringed at the recipes with canned soups, so when I saw this version in my e-mail, I decided to give it a try. Use really good wild-caught tuna, plus all organic ingredients. Cooked up beautifully and got husband's "excellent" rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I always make the recipe as stated the first time. Now for my changes.... Cut the noodles to at least 5 -6 oz only. This had way too many noodles for us. It took all the moisture as well. But the flavor was there to enjoy. We will cut the noodles but will try again, it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was very easy to make and I was out of my can of celery soup I normally use so the roux was perfect and we do not like mushrooms so left them out. It was a perfect consistency and I am very pleased as is my hubby:) yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was so much better than the recipes with cream of mushroom soup and it was easy; worth the extra effort; will definitely make this again when my husband is home I am sure he will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very bland. I should have tried some of the adjustments I read in the reviews. Definitely will next time if I make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Too dry. Add some of the juice drained from the tuna and reduce the amount of salt the recipe calls for. I also added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper to the sauce. You could also add two or three chopped hard cooked eggs to the mixture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yum, even used a small chopped head of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I liked the basic base of this recipe, but like others have said, it does need some extras! Add chicken stock and also some spices - I added thyme, basil, and marjoram. As well, I just didn't understand the egg noodles - after about only 5 min of cooking, I drained the noodles and found that they were super mushy and stuck together like glue. The texture was yucky. Next time, I will make this dish without the noodles, and maybe serve with rice on the side instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States