Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Kristopher Rodriguez
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great base recipe! Definitely worth giving a shot, personally I made some changes of course: -used vanilla soy milk (yes, Vanilla!!! Just try it!) And only 1.5 cups not 2, -added 1/4 cup of flour than what was called for, - used wheat spiral noodles instead of egg noodles; 2 cups instead of 1 -parmesan cheese instead of cheddar, -and cheerios blended instead of bread crumbs, preference, I'm just not a fan of them. Can I just say amazing! Thank you for posting! This recipe also sounds like it would be a great base for chicken pot pie just adding corn kernels and swapping out the tuna and noodles for chicken and pie crusts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
just wonderful! well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Easy way to omit the canned soup! I did everything as is (except added Parm cheese, cream cheese, and 1/2 the cheese to the sauce like a review suggested). The casserole came out tasty - mainly because of the mushrooms. A little bland otherwise and dry. But a good start. Next time going to omit the cream cheese I added (didn't add creaminess like I thought it would), add more pepper, more mushrooms, minced onion, and french fried onions (and breadcrumbs) on top, and use less noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I wanted to try a tuna noodle casserole without using canned soup. This was awesome!!!! I loved the freshness of the celery, onion, garlic and mushrooms. I only used 1/2c cheese on top because that is all I had on hand, but I think it was perfect. Thank you for sharing!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Good recipe. It needed about double the bread crumbs though. I agree with another rater about being able to cut back on the butter in the sauce, and nutmeg probably would have been a nice addition, as well as a sharper cheese like old cheddar, for more flavor without having to add too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Gave it 4 stars because it is kind of dry and bland. I altered the recipe and doubled the sauce, added chicken bouillon and red pepper flakes. I also kept the mushrooms out since my family aren't fans. I have made this recipe several times already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Although this tuna casserole was good we have had better. I thought it was a little bland. Not sure I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Made it twice so far and a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I tried this wonderful recipe and loved it. I did the same thing that another user did which was put a splash of white wine with the sauteed vegetables. I didn't put on any cheese but added a lot more bread crumbs and it came out delicious. I also used corkscrew noodles instead of egg noodles because I didn't want it to fall apart and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I did like this recipe and would make again with a couple of additions parsley, thyme and a little more sauce. Actually I was surprised it was as good as it was. I gave it 4 stars because of the additions I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 958) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States