Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family loves tuna casserole and I never use canned soup - so the fresh mushroom rue is familiar to me. I thought I'd try a different recipe just for a slightly new taste. This recipe had a nice flavor (although it needed more breadcrumb and cheese for my family's tastebuds). However time wise, it was not worth the amount of effort. I doubled the recipe as I usually do with casseroles and freeze one for another dinner. My kitchen sink was filled with dishes and the net result was not in line with the amount of prep time - which was long. I know doubling a recipe increases prep time but this one just seemed to take too long - even factoring in the doubling. I hate to thumbs down a recipe but maybe I did something wrong with my timing. Again, the taste was good- but won't make this again due to the time factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I have to agree with some of the comments that this didn't have a whole lot of flavor. I really like the idea of making the roux from scratch instead of using canned soup, but as written, I found it to be really lacking in flavor... I initially followed the recipe as is, my pasta was whole wheat, and the flour I used was half white flour and half wheat flour. I also don't drink milk milk so created the appropriate amount of powdered non-fat milk and when made, it was really bland. I honestly don't think those substitutions accounted for the COMPLETE lack of flavor though... I had to keep adding and tasting and adding and tasting. I added about 4 more cloves of minced garlic, grated asiago cheese, salt, pepper, cayenne, nutmeg, lemon juice, heavy whipping cream....premade whipped garlic sauce...I had to just keep adding and adding. I'd like to say that I am pretty health conscious, eating mostly veggies and grains, so it's not like I was only going to be satisfied with a super salty, fatty and extremely rich dish. I can appreciate subtlety, I just don't think there is any flavor as written... After all of the additions, I added homemade bread crumbs and grated parmesan on top. Not sure if I'd go through all of the work again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy Lamb
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe the day after Thanksgiving - using turkey instead of tuna of course. Really easy and very tasty. I used one cup of heavy cream and a cup and a half of milk with plenty of butter (I wanted it creamy and rich). I used some poultry seasoning with the butter, garlic, onions, mushrooms, celery, and peas. I also put a bit of cheddar cheese in the bechamel sauce and instead, used buttered Panko crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This wasn't as much work as I thought it was going to be. I didn't think it was too dry as some people mentioned, but I agree it needed a few spices at the table. I added celery salt and dill, plus a few red pepper flakes. On its own, it's still pretty tasty though. You can definitely tell the difference without the canned ingredients, even if it doesn't knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I made a few changes: (1) half-and-half instead of milk; (2) shredded cheddar and Monterey Jack (that's what I had on hand); (3) added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg and 1 tsp. of lemon juice to the sauce. It turned out really well. I thought it could have used a bit more sauce, but my husband was happy with it as is. It reheats well, too. Will definitely be adding this one to my rotation! Oh - one last thing. I used one saute pan for the veggies and the bechamel sauce because I'm lazy. Worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
little bland- even used other suggestions- added extra garlic, thyme, red pepper, nutmeg, parm cheese, cr cheese. still very good though- just S&P needed- kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Real comfort food. Used Panko crumbs without sauteing in butter, then cheese right over the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I pretty much followed the recipe adding a few suggested spices. I made this for my neighbor who had just gotten out of the hospital and LOVES Tuna/Noodle Casserole!! I had never made one before and decided on this one because of the reviews. He loved it and so did his wife who really doesn't care for tuna. As for me - I don't care for tuna either - so if I ever make it again I'll probably just replace the tuna with chicken. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Delicious comfort food. I added carrots to the sautéed veggies and left out the mushrooms. Was a huge hit with the fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great flavor !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States