Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
A great basic mid-week meal... nice that it is from scratch. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Skipped the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them and used French fried onions for the topping. Followed the rest of the recipe as written and it tasted great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great base recipe. Like others I did add somthings. Used peas and carrots, added sautéed onions and mushrooms and used one can of cream of celery soup. Also added used cheddar instead of American just due to personal taste. My wife is not a big tuna casserole fan and loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love that this recipe is a from scratch version instead of using canned soup. I have made this twice & modified it slightly both times. I sauteed a red pepper with my onion & garlic. I also used the pea/carrot mixture instead of just peas. To the roux I also add a few splashes of hot sauce and 1 tsp. of thyme. I also put the cheese under the breadcrumbs so that they stay crunchy. I used panko breadcrumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I was surprised at how tasty this turned out. My husband wasn't excited when I told him I was making tuna casserole but he ended up loving it. I did make some minor adjustments, as suggested by other reviewers: *Added 1 finely chopped carrot to the celery + onion mix *Used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1. I find that garlic burns easily so I waited until it was time to add the mushrooms before I added the garlic (put it through the garlic press) *Used a very sharp white cheddar and added an additional 1/4 cup to the sauce *Covered the top with the sharp shredded cheddar and italian flavored bread crumbs. I skipped mixing the breadcrumbs with butter. *Added 3-4 tablespoons of fresh chopped dill (it is mild so you can add a lot without overdoing it) *Added 3 tablespoons of fresh chopped italian parsley One other note - I used button mushrooms as perscribed by the recipe. Usually I would sub in white mushrooms but I found that the button mushrooms have a distinct flavor and I thought they tasted marvelous in the dish. It would have been very different with white mushrooms. Oh and everything is already cooked so I only had it in the oven for 20 mins until the cheese was melted. If you're on the fence about trying out a tuna casserole cause it seems unappetizing, just go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
5 stars! I just made this recipe (the first time I've ever even tasted tuna casserole much less prepared it) and it's amazing!!!! I used the nutmeg in the roux as I am convinced it's the best "secret" ingredient for white sauces there is! One other minor change from looking at reviews was to add one cup of chicken broth to 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup cream for the sauce. Otherwise this recipe is amazing! Hope my hubby likes it when he comes home! I think he will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
It was pretty good, but not really worth the time it took to prep for a simple casserole. It's just a casserole, nothing gourmet about it. BUT it is definitely tastier than the casserole that isn't from scratch. I put in lots of garlic, used a peas/carrots combo and three cans of tuna. The boys really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A friend who went fishing and caught a huge tuna, it became part of this delicious dish. I used 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of broth. This is the best tuna noodle casserole I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I tried this recipe last night, I did not care for the taste at all. Tasted bland in the pan, added more salt and garlic salt, still overall this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
My daughter who cannot stand tuna fish, but needs the protein, had TWO huge helpings of this. I doubled the recipe, but only used two cans of tuna. I did not put butter in the breadcrumbs either, and it tasted AMAZING!!!!! I cannot wait to make this recipe again!!!!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 945) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States