Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Wonderful quick and easy dinner. Love the room for additions if you want something extra in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Zeller-Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Excellent, flavorful recipe, and not a canned "cream of" ________ soup in sight, yay! I did add an extra can of tuna, and I used baby early peas. Neither changes the recipe substantially. Thank you for a REAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I loved the fact that you don't use canned (high-sodium) soup in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for using macaroni instead of noodles, and lots more garlic (we love our garlic in this house). Prep was easy and quick and the taste of the final result was excellent. Will keep this in the rotation for a quick satisfying (and healthy) meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
A little dry, otherwise very good! Just add a little milk and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
The idea of a casserole usually freaks me out but I once happened to try my friend's version with cream of mushroom soup and lots of thyme and kind of liked it. When I saw my lack of ingredients I figured today was the day to do it. I didn't have cream of mushroom but l didn't really like the idea of it all too much anyway. I was so happy I found his recipe! With some tweaks it's a total keeper! I sautéed the rest of frozen stirfry mix instead w/o the water chestnuts plus a scallion and a huge clove of garlic. Put that aside then made the sauce with 3T butter and 4T flour, then substituted 1C knorr chicken broth with 1C evaporated milk. Once it thickened I took it off the heat and put 3/4 C low moisture grated mozzarella and a few leftover cubes of extra sharp cheddar. To the pot I added 2 drained 7oz cans of tuna, bottom of a bag of frozen peas, the stirfry, a heaping 1/2 tsp thyme, some marjoram, and s&p. oh, and the cooked pasta of course, I had less than two cups of pasta shells left over which I prefer to noodles after trying it this way. Topped with Italian bread crumb mixture and popped it in the oven (ovenproof pots RULE!) it was freaking STELLAR! I swear it almost tasted like freaking clam chowder I totally want to make this in individual bread bowls! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This dish is amazing! I get sick of using canned soup in everything. Even my picky eaters ate everything off their plate. One of them even said they loved it over 10 times. This is becoming a common dinner at my house. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
As is, the recipe was only okay. I would only rate it three stars; however, after making one small change, it really had the flavor I was looking for. THANK YOU to MVANWINKLE for giving me a wonderful base to start with! The small change I made was putting something like plain yogurt or keifer in place of the milk; that was all. It gave it the zing I was looking for. I now make this for everyone who wants to try "American food."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is a family favorite in my house! I usually make it without the peas or cheddar cheese (husband request) but add grated parmesan instead. Otherwise I follow the recipe, though last time I read reviews and tried a crushed chicken bullion cube and a bit of nutmeg in the sauce and really liked it so I will continue to do this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great! Delicious comfort food and it was great to avoid all the extra sodium and preservatives from the canned soup. We made it with lowfat milk and whole wheat flour and it came out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I listened to other reviewers and used crackers in lieu of bread crumbs and store cheese into the milk mixture just because it appealed to me. I used unsweetened coconut milk instead of cow's to and this recipe was the bombsies! For those who prefer measurements: 1 tsp seasoned salt; 1/4 tsp pepper worked perfectly for me. I also used 3 cans of albacore tuna (5oz) because it called for 12 oz and I actually meant to split one can in half and forgot. Despite that I didn't find it to be dry at all! I did use a 2.5qt glass casserole dish though. I will undoubtedly make again. My finicky toddler even ate it. I had to remove the peas and obvious tuna chunks from his plate, but he smashed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States