Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
hey in honor of my late mother I made this today in Tennessee and tonight there will be no leftovers so thank M for the recipe in my inbox .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved this great old time casserole. I sprayed the baking dish and added cut up green olives, and a 1/2 C. white wine and pimentos. Adds just a pop to the over all taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I am glad this recipe did not use canned soup, dry soup mix, or bottled sauce. Seems most of these recipes caters to people trying to save time but it does not take much longer to do it from scratch than to resort to canned soup. You also control the salt when you cook from scratch and you don't ingest unpronounceable ingredients. The only changes I made was to omit the mushrooms (hate them), more garlic, and used frozen mixed vegetables instead of just peas. Pearl onions would also work in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I was tired of the same old tuna noodle casserole. I made this recipe - exactly as written - and I think it has a much superior taste. Loved the fact that it uses a roux instead of the canned soup! I liked the addition of the mushrooms, too (our family loves 'shrooms). Very good recipe! A definite keeper Dutchcook1949
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have not tried this recipe. However I can see just how good it would be. My only comment would be "Way to much prep work for me"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PanApollo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creede, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a delicious recipe. Remember when making a roue, must have equal parts of butter and flour. I added a little chicken boullion to the sauce, just a tad. I used thyme and a little nutmeg. I also did not cook the garlic with the onions, as garlic becomes very bitter is over sauteed. I added it after the mushrooms and only sauteed the garlic for two minutes as it would cook more while baking. Can't stand bitter garlic! And, my Tuna Casserole always has potato chips in it. I know, I know, lots of calories, etc. but that is my signature add-in for my casserole and my kids love, love, love it and one of my sons asked for it every birthday (much to his wife's chagrin!) My daughter wants it when she comes home and my youngest son just loves it! Try the potato chips! Do not add more butter to the chips and maybe not even bake it! I also did not skimp on the cheddar and even my husband, who hates tuna casserole, loved it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I grew up on this! Every Fri. night, my mother made "Tuna Wiggle" as she called it. I've tweaked it from time to time by using left over grilled salmon or chicken, but use the same process. I also use whole wheat noodles. Another thing my mother would substitute on occasion, (if she didn't want to take the time to make seasoned bread crumbs...yes, she made those from scratch, too, 55 years ago)was crumbled potato chips to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a great base recipe with a few added seasonings. I also use french fried onions on top mixed with cheese. Finally a tip a chef shared with me: When cooking pasta for a casserole like this, cook the pasta a bit past the aldente stage. That way the noodles don't absorb so much of the sauce and it won't be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made this recipe last night and as it is written, the sauce will take you straight to Blandsville! Even an amateur cook (such as myself) should always realize you need more seasoning than just salt, pepper, onion & garlic. Following the lead of another here, I added the following to the sauce - nutmeg, red pepper flakes, thyme and yes - cream of mushroom soup and cream of celery soup (HORROR!) LOL! It bumped the flavor up SIGNIFICANTLY. I also carmelized the onions, then added the celery and garlic. I topped it with parmesan, sharp cheddar & french fried onions. I rate my additions FIVE STARS. I anticipate the leftovers tasting even better tonight! *Make sure you have enough sauce and that it's not too thick, otherwise ANY casserole you make will come out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great comfort food dish. I added an extra can of tuna for more protein. I also made a gluten-free version with GF elbow macaroni and potato starch instead of the flour. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States