Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
WAY too much mayo. I use green onions / scallions. I lightly toast the bread, spread the tuna on top, lay slices of cheese on top (don't mix it in the tuna) and pop them under the broiler for 2-3 minutes. Other than that, the recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I haven't made these as yet this way but have made melts for years. I always use hard boiled eggs along with the tuna and they are delicious and go farther with the eggs. Never a cup of mayo..I just used enough to hold the ingredients together like I was making a sandwich. The tuna and egg together is my daughter's favourite sandwich also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I use 4-5 cans of tuna for this recipe, then use everything else as is. 1 cup of mayo for just 1 can of tuna is way too much, but for 4 cans of tuna, it's perfect! A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingerly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I give this 5 stars...for a tuna melt! It has a ton of mayo for one can of 12 oz tuna, which might be throwing some others off with the amount of mayo. I have to use 3-5 oz cans of tuna and I use a little more than the cup of mayo and 2 cups of cheese. Of course you can use less if you WANT to, but if you are going to make a tuna melt, just accept that it will NOT be a low cal sandwich, and go ahead and use the whole cup of mayo and 2 cups of cheese!! You can add more or less veggies - I substitute onion powder for the onion b/c hubby doesnt like onion. Doctor it up as you see fit, but just remember, it's a tuna MELT!! Surprisingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Having never made tuna melts before I found this recipe to be the best. My husband told me he wanted me to make him a sandwich like the cafeteria ladies in college used to make. This recipe is exactly how he described it. I used garlic texas toast in place of the french bread. Yummy! Thanks P Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
very good family loved it! i didnt use a cup of mayo instead i just used about 3 to 4 tbsp the texture seemed right. but this is an easy simple recipe =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sushieater89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Too much mayo. I started with a 1/4 cup & slowly added more to suit our tastes. Probably came to 1/2 cup mayo. I also added a little garlic powder & because I didnt have 2 cups mozzarella I had to use about 3/4 cup parmesan to make up for the mozz i was lacking. Overall, this was very tasty! I think the base recipe is fabulous & simple & can be dressed up easily with tomatoes, eggs, celery, or anything else you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soozeeCue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
We cut the recipe in half, omitted the onion, used sliced whole wheat bread, and added a dash of garlic salt and pepper. Very easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very yummy!! One thing I love with this recipie is that the tuna doesn't melt out of the sandwhich when I bake it. It all stays put. I used 3/4 cup mayo along with addding some salt, onion powder and crushed garlic. I also put some cheese on top of the sandwhichs to melt on and make them look pretty! :) Onion powder works fine but next time I want fresh! :) Oh and the best part is this is really easy and fast to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Great tuna melt. I did add about 2T of pickle relish and a few shakes of a garlic/dill seasoning blend. Didn't measure mayo, just eyeballed until I had the consistency I wanted (remember, it will dry out a bit while in the oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States