Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
So much mayo, but in all a good recipe. I would put maybe 3 tablespoons mayo add some Greek yogurt and def add the pickle relish and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I love tuna melts and liked the variation with mozz cheese. Did not use the full amount of mayo - thought it seemed like way too much. I use 1 heaping tablespoon per can of tuna. My kiddos don't like raw onion, so I substitue onion powder. Occasionally, I will make these extra special by using very soft cream cheese in place of the mayo - 1 oz per can or some combination of cream cheese and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I agree with some of the comments in regard to the amount of mayonaise! A little much for the tastes in our household but other than that, great! I really liked using the sweet onion over a regular red or white. I tried the recipe a couple times and experimented with different types of bread including a whole grain/seasame bread - delicious. I also added one clove of fresh garlic to the tuna/mayo - little bit of a kick. I imagine there are lots of little ways you could personalize this but a great base and really fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I love the idea of using shredded cheese. My mom always used velveta cheese in cubes. She also added onions and olives and diced them small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I would use white sauce to hold it together rather than mayonnaise. Not so rich my mum made them all the time but put them on toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
We would add celery and onion to the tuna with 2 T of mayonnaise. Put a scoop onto a hamburger bun..a slice of cheese...and pop it into a wax paper bag and into the oven for about 15 minutes. It comes out toasted and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is a great jumping off recipe. As is, a tad bland. I added chopped boiled egg, some honey mustard, and a sprinkle of chili pepper. I used ff mayo and they were delic! I toasted the buns before adding the tuna, then shredded the cheese over top, then put under the broiler.oh yes, I added some sweet relish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I use miracle whip lite, about 2 heaping tablespoons...and i also add some pickle relish....it yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Mayo commenters, please note that the standard can of tuna is 3 oz and this recipe is calling for a can that is 12 oz. More mayo use... I always scrape a barely-there layer of mayo onto the bread when I grill a melt. It provides a beautifully glazed finish to the sandwich and its arguably better for you than butter -- but once you are grilling a sandwich that just is not an issue! That's why I liked the idea of baking it, no finish. This was pretty good so I did it again with scallions and roasted red peppers (pat them dry). Just plain YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made exactly as is and this made a great tuna melt. I think people are having an issue with the recipe because they're assuming that the recipe calls for one small can of tuna (usually 4 or 5 oz. depending on brand) but the recipe actually calls for a 12 oz can. 1 C of mayo for a 12 oz can is pretty much dead on to bind the tuna, onion and cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States