Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Using a whole cup of mayonnaise dilutes the flavor of the tuna too much. This recipe cuts calories in that it's baked in the oven and not grilled in a skillet. However, the clincher is the cheese....you really need to use either cheddar or swiss to get that zing in your tuna melt flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martinimeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
In New-Zealand we use tuna, mayo, celery,capsicon,onion, spice it up with cajun, lemonpepper, and pepper seasoning. Place on toast slice bread, sprinkle over grated cheese grill in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Didn't want to have so much of it leftover, and took some caution with the mayonnaise, so overall I used only half of the ingredients, with only 1/4 a cup of mayo. Turned out pretty well, although seeming to lack a little in volume and flavor with just these ingredients. Still a good base, though, and I'll probably look to add to it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have made this several times...each time different. I love the availability of change in this recipe. When I made this according to the recipe, I did not like the amount of mayo. So I made it again with half the mayo. I have made this with salmon, garlic powder and creole seasoning added...bake and then top with more cheese. this recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gerrietp
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
THis was good!! I've never had a tuna melt so i thought I'd try it since I was going to eat tuna for lunch either way. Was good but feel like it needed abit more flavor. I used shredded cheddar and a slice of mozzarella over lettuce to hold in place. Next time I think I need to let it heat up more cheese was melted but middles of sandwich needed abit more to heat through. Will try again w hubby and see what he thinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerrietp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Really nice recipe that lends itself to lots of experimentation! Excellent as is! Personally, jalapenos might spice it up on some occassions, but not called for every time one makes this recipe. For my own self, I think this recipe is great, but would highly recommend cutting down on the mayo! I usually substitute yogurt for the mayo minus the whey for health food reasons and it turns out very good. A+++ and thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Excellent basic tuna melt recipe. I don't know how a reviewer could give fewer than five stars. The recipe lends itself to changes to suit individual tastes such as more spice or whatever. I always dislike reviews that count off because the finished dish might not appeal to their taste instead of it being a faulty recipe. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I'm a pickle person with tuna so I added sweet pickles and cut way down on the mayo. All in all a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
We lose the onion, add some pickle relish to the tuna, and have a slice of tomato under the cheese, all open-face on English muffins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Used fat-free yogurt instead of mayo. No one knew the difference. Added relish, and TB of lemon juice. Used less cheese than recipe called. Good warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States