Tuna Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My DH had very high hopes for this recipe, and he thought it smelled incredible while it was cooking (huge onion-lover), but it bombed. I made the recipe as written, except that we do not have tuna in olive oil available in my demographic, so had to settle for tuna "in oil", which was soybean oil, and I used whole wheat penne. With the olive oil the garlic and onions were sauted in, combined with the oil the tuna was packed in, this was incredibly oily--so much so that I think I gained 10 lbs just by looking at it (I wouldn't eat it). The DH and the kiddos thought it was extremely bland and unflavored. I may try this again someday--if I do, my overhaul will include using tuna packed in water, not oil, and I will use a packet of alfredo sauce mix to give it a cohesive flavor base. This is a very creative recipe--I like the combination of the tuna, garbanzos, and olives--just needs some work, IMHO. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Thank you! I will make this again. I added more garlic and used navy beans, whole wheat spaghetti and parmesan instead of the chick peas, penne and romano. It is very healthy, and calls for ingredients that are on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe! Fast and tasty. I used chicken stock instead of water because it adds extra flavor. Also, I used Great Northern beans instead of garbanzo. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was looking for something to do with some cans of tuna and a can of garbanzos I had laying around. This came out decently tasty and I would probably make again if I had stuff on hand to use up. I tweaked this recipe slightly. I used about 8 cloves of garlic (I like it a lot). I also used tuna in water instead of olive oil after reading some reviews that said this was overly oily. I didn't add water so it's a little on the dry side, but not too much. I am not sure why people said this recipe is tasteless, I added plenty of salt and pepper and it tastes fine to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Our family enjoyed this - my husband and myself in particular. The kids were less enhusiastic. I read the previous reviews and decided to add a can of cream soup, especially since I did not have any tuna in olive oil. I plan to fix this again, as written. The flavor combo of tuna, olive, and chickpeas is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My kids are good eaters and it was a tough night eating when I made this (and they love olives and pasta so I thought they would at least eat some of it) Easy to make with things on hand (thats the reason I give it any stars) but we won't eat this again.... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fc7
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I found this recipe when I was searching for a way to use tuna without making a casserole, tuna patties, or tuna salad. I happened to have the other ingredients and decided to give it a shot. My husband and I absolutely LOVE this recipe. It is incredibly easy to make and still delicious! We did modify it a bit to suit our tastes; we like spicy foods so we added sriracha to the simmering tuna mixture. We also used tricolor pasta to make the dish more visually appealing. This will be a regular addition to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fc7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was Ok needed something but not sure what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was an interesting dish. I like recipes that use garbanzo beans. I thought this was quite tasty. I didn't use the tuna packed in oil.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States