Tuna Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe! Fast and tasty. I used chicken stock instead of water because it adds extra flavor. Also, I used Great Northern beans instead of garbanzo. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Thank you! I will make this again. I added more garlic and used navy beans, whole wheat spaghetti and parmesan instead of the chick peas, penne and romano. It is very healthy, and calls for ingredients that are on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I chose this recipe because it's a tuna recipe that doesn't use any dairy or egg ingredients since my son is allergic to both. I made it as stated except I substituted a can of small white beans instead of the garbanzo beans. I thought it wasn't bad, my 3-year old really liked it, my husband ate a small serving while making annoying faces, and my daughter wouldn't touch it. Because of the very mixed reviews, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I liked this recipe, it as quick and simple to make. I added a can of Cream of Mushroom soup to it to give it more of a sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Nice and quick. I added a can of cream of chicken soup because I was in the mood for something creamier. I was also out of onions, but used about a cup of chopped scallions instead... and it seemed to work well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Our family enjoyed this - my husband and myself in particular. The kids were less enhusiastic. I read the previous reviews and decided to add a can of cream soup, especially since I did not have any tuna in olive oil. I plan to fix this again, as written. The flavor combo of tuna, olive, and chickpeas is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
THIS WAS GOOD B UT IT NEEDED SOMETHING.. I WILL TINKER WITH IT BUT GOOD OVERALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My DH had very high hopes for this recipe, and he thought it smelled incredible while it was cooking (huge onion-lover), but it bombed. I made the recipe as written, except that we do not have tuna in olive oil available in my demographic, so had to settle for tuna "in oil", which was soybean oil, and I used whole wheat penne. With the olive oil the garlic and onions were sauted in, combined with the oil the tuna was packed in, this was incredibly oily--so much so that I think I gained 10 lbs just by looking at it (I wouldn't eat it). The DH and the kiddos thought it was extremely bland and unflavored. I may try this again someday--if I do, my overhaul will include using tuna packed in water, not oil, and I will use a packet of alfredo sauce mix to give it a cohesive flavor base. This is a very creative recipe--I like the combination of the tuna, garbanzos, and olives--just needs some work, IMHO. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
We just finished eating this (with modifications), and everyone - kids included LOVED it. I sauteed leeks (finally chopped in the processor) and 3 cloves of garlic in a bit of olive oil, added one can of tuna (no oil), the garbanzos, olives and spices, then finally a package of Knorr cream of mushroom pasta sauce and the required two cups of water with grana padano cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States