Tuna Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this tonight and think I had a little too much pasta. In any case, it was good. I used tuna in water rather than oil. I wanted color so I added a jar of pimento. I love parsley so added a bunch of dried. Here's the kicker, I didn't have parmesian or romano! So I buttered the noodles and added celery salt. I thought about pouring a little Italian dressing in there but didn't. I'll make it again though, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My husband and I loved this quick, simple, filling, healthy, and convenient dish. For that I feel it deserves a great review! I drained the tuna in oil, added extra garlic, and would recommend cutting back on the added salt. I also added red pepper flakes and a few sprinkles of italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My kids are good eaters and it was a tough night eating when I made this (and they love olives and pasta so I thought they would at least eat some of it) Easy to make with things on hand (thats the reason I give it any stars) but we won't eat this again.... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fc7
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I found this recipe when I was searching for a way to use tuna without making a casserole, tuna patties, or tuna salad. I happened to have the other ingredients and decided to give it a shot. My husband and I absolutely LOVE this recipe. It is incredibly easy to make and still delicious! We did modify it a bit to suit our tastes; we like spicy foods so we added sriracha to the simmering tuna mixture. We also used tricolor pasta to make the dish more visually appealing. This will be a regular addition to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fc7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was Ok needed something but not sure what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was looking for something to do with some cans of tuna and a can of garbanzos I had laying around. This came out decently tasty and I would probably make again if I had stuff on hand to use up. I tweaked this recipe slightly. I used about 8 cloves of garlic (I like it a lot). I also used tuna in water instead of olive oil after reading some reviews that said this was overly oily. I didn't add water so it's a little on the dry side, but not too much. I am not sure why people said this recipe is tasteless, I added plenty of salt and pepper and it tastes fine to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was an interesting dish. I like recipes that use garbanzo beans. I thought this was quite tasty. I didn't use the tuna packed in oil.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
It was a pretty good recipe. As MMJM says, it's a great pantry/what I have dish. I didn't have onion so i just put in dried onion flakes and didn't have olives...so i put in...1 can of diced tomatoes? it worked, and was tasty! Especially since I just happened to have those ingredients and not much else...and I'm broke until tommorrow :) I think the Romano or Parmesean would've been yummy, but since cheese makes everything generally better, I used what I had- some colby jack mix and it was yum! If I made this again, I'd let the diced tomatoes simmer down and reduce with lots of fresh basil. Then I'd add the garbanzos to let the "canned" flavor mellow out. When in doubt, add more garlic! If you're really adventurous and only have tuna, you could stray from this recipe entirely and maybe do curry, onions, bamboo shoots, and coconut milk with a touch of vinegar (if it's not tasty enough) over rice? It's how I make chicken sometimes...just a random thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Great light dish, especially for those who like olives. I decreased the olive oil, used minced garlic, and will decrease the water next time. I agree that it could use something more; perhaps optional items might be recommended...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Really bad. I had to use tomato sauce to try and salvage it, but it was difficult to consider it tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States