Tuna Garden Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Everyone liked it. I made a few minor changes for what I had on hand (& to make it Gluten Free To make GF I first sprayed glass 9 x 13 dish w/olive oil then put 12 oz Schaar GF penne pasta in the bottom UNCOOKED (GF pasta won’t stand much cooking). I sautéed onion, celery, red bell pepper, garlic together (still tender crisp), added salt, pepper, 1/4 C red wine (it's what I had open), 8 oz frozen chopped spinach, 1 sprig of fresh basil & 3 or 4 stems cilantro chopped and simmered on medium heat covered until the spinach was thawed abt 2 or 3 min. Next, stirred in about 1/2 of a small steamed cauliflower left from the night before along with the salmon. Spread the mixture evenly over the top of the uncooked pasta (in the casserole dish), poured 16 oz ‘Imagine’ brand Potato Leek soup on the top, next 1 ½ C chicken stock (extra b/c pasta wasn't cooked before hand), sprinkled top with a generous cup of Daia (nondairy) Cheddar Cheese followed by 1/3 Gluten Free bread crumbs. I misread directions - preheated and baked at 350 instead of 375 needed 30 minutes instead of 25 for the pasta to be cooked al dente, but then I put it in uncooked too. All in all my kind of recipe, healthy, easy, one dish, and liked by all! I gave only 4 stars b/c I think it needs more than 8 oz pasta & 1 can of fish per 8 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great recipe! This came out a bit bland for my taste the first time but the 2nd time I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added chili powder. DH loved it, usually hates tuna cass. I just sprinkled about 1 tsp on the top of the casserole and it gave it great flavour! Also, will use 2 cans soup next time as I like a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Simple and awesome! I bought organic Potato & leek soup, used dry white wine instead of sherry, spinach instead of kale, 1 onion, 2 cans tuna, knorr Vegetable bullion (whole cube) and jarred roasted red peppers (they're really pretty good), organic 100% semolina penne, We bumped up the mozzarella from 1/4 to 1/2 lb and used the whole milk version. It came out great!!! Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by szzn1225

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is very good. I used cream of asparagus soup in place of the leek soup and escarole in place of the kale. Very yummy. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
i thought this was really great as an easy, fast weeknight meal. i doubled the tuna and kale (we love both) and subbed parmesan for the mozzarella. very good and very adaptable, especially in terms of making it healthy/lo-fat. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was great! I have a bunch of kale that needed to be used up and this fit the bill perfectly. I did do a few substitutions: I omitted the sherry (the kale steamed itself just fine without any liquid added to the veggies); I didn't have potato leek soup, so I used a can of condensed cream of potato soup instead; I didn't have vegetable stock so I used 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of whole milk. It turned out creamy and had lots of flavor. Thanks for the recipe! It sure beats Tuna Helper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This recipe was amazing! It has now become a new kale favorite. We have an abundance of kale in our garden right now and we will be making this again for sure. I followed the recipe closely and I found that the cooking times for the veggies were too long. I used Campbells Gardennay's Leek and potato soup and some homemade veggie stock. It turned out beautifully. For the next time I might broil the dish for a few minutes to brown the cheese a bit. It might be good with a combination of mozzarella and cheddar or some parm. Yummy, yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great recipe! I altered some of the ingredients as I didn't have everything required, but it was still ended up tasting great: * didn't have the soup, so used milk; * added a dash of chilli powder; & * used broccoli instead of kale. I also more than doubled the pasta required (must have bigger appetites than the author!). March 23, 2008 - I have made this recipe several more times with all the ingredients to hand, except I cannot source Kale. Continued using broccoli instead - tastes fantastic. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soooz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I really enjoyed the Kale. Fould the flavour a little light. Kids did not like it (Kale) but the adults did. Would cook again but add a bit more cream soup and tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States