Tuna From Can To Frying Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was pretty tasty and a great low calorie, cheap, quick meal when you don't have time to prep a bunch of stuff. I'll probably make this on a pretty regular basis since time is my main constraint to eating healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Mom taught me a similar recipe but instead of teriyaki sauce we use soy sauce and no added salt. Serve with steamed white rice and done. Quick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mai Hansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I had rice and broccoli, and wanted to add a protein. Had no chicken or beef, only canned tuna. I always wondered if you could fry canned tuna (and have it taste anything like tuna steaks on the grill), so I googled "frying canned tuna," and this came up. I didn't have teriyaki, so I used a soy sauce/honey BBQ sauce combo (hoping for a Japanese/Sushi taste). I kept cooking the tuna and tasting it, and eventually, lo and behold, it DID taste somewhat like tuna steaks. I also added a little vegetable oil to the cooking tuna because it was getting too dry. As someone else mentioned, I think it definitely helped to cook the tuna for a while (maybe 8+ mins for me), to get rid of the "canned tuna" taste. When I was done, I put the tuna over rice and broccoli, and it was quite good. I added a little more soy sauce/honey BBQ mix on top because I'm a bit of a sauce freak. Honestly, if I had tuna steaks cooked on the grill and chopped them up and put over rice and broccoli, it would have tasted similar to this. Of course the steaks would be better, but what do you want for canned tuna? Super cheap, super easy meal with a Japanese flair depending on how you prepare it. Don't be scared; it's worth a try. Plus if you don't like it, it's not like you'll be wasting a ton of time or money on ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was really yummy :) I added it to a rice bowl i was making with creamy scrambled egg, 2 tomatoes, sesame seeds, and rice. I added a bit of crushed red pepper when frying the tuna, just two shakes to make it taste like spicy tuna in sushi :) thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aelita Shiomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was so disgusting it made my entire breakfast inedible. Teriyaki and Tuna is a terrible combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I sauteed a half cup of chopped mushrooms in a quarter cup of teriyaki sauce, added the broccoli and coooked for 5 minuutes, added two cans of tuna and cooked another five minutes. Really crucial to cook long enough to remove that "can" taste from the tuna. I added a lot of siracha, black ground pepper, a tablespoon of fresh garlic, and some chopped onion. Forgot the butter. I am eating the meal right now for lunch with some leftover siracha rice from last night. This is delicious!I can tell this will become one of those meals I randomly crave. Thanks for discovering this yummy mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Sorry. Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I did not have any teriyaki sauce so I used a lil worschester and balsamic. And I baked broccoli and cauliflower and topped with the tuna. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I thought this would be weird, but everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
You know, we actually liked this! I guess I had low expectations because of what was in it, but I didn't have a lot of time last night and only a few things on hand so I through this together. I added sriracha sauce to the tuna, and roasted some garlic with the broccoli, but all in all we both gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States