Tuna Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I really liked it. I made some variations: I used condensed mushroom soup and about 1/2 can refilled with non-fat milk for the sauce. I also used canned chicken instead of the tuna for a friend that doesn't eat fish and she loved it! So quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. I have made this several times. Comfort food. Easy to make. Great sauce. The reason I gave 4 not 5 stars is that it really does need the sauce since the tuna in the rolls is rather boring/bland. I feel like I need to add something inside them but I don't know what yet. Will make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I loved it but neither my husband or daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made this many times and it's always a hit! Even my late mother, who became very picky about food (and often refused to eat) loved it. I can never find pimentos, so I've sometimes just chopped red peppers very fine and I've also added onions and peppers to the broth. It's super delish as it is, although the peppers and onions are delishious as well. I've found the pepper can be a bit strong and can overpower the tuna and cheese, so you might want to cut down on the amount. It's always amazing, though and I'm dying to make this for the first time for my new husband! I know he'll love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
One of our favorite winter meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These were unexpectedly good, my 1year old loved them. I made potato soup and put dumplings in oven for a few minutes alone to make them crispier. Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
First off: BOTH KIDS ATE 'EM! 11 & 14! I changed the recipe, but not too much. I didn't make the sauce & used a 12oz can chunk light tuna & a "10 pack" of buttermilk biscuits. They are surprising (suspiciously :D) similar to cresent rolls when flattened. I oiled the pan a little & baked 'em about 25 minutes. For the filling, I used the tuna, 3/4t salt, 1/2t pepper, a cup of cheddar & just one egg. I let that sit a while in the refrig to plump up the cheese & help it hold its shape. I made goodsize - inch or more - tuna "meatballs." Placed them in the center & pulled up from the sides four times (imagine a square), gave them a pinch & a twist, then baked. If I hadn't put the biscuits on the oiled pan then filled, they all would've stayed together; but oil got on the corners I was trying to seal so a couple openned. The intact ones were cute! I sprinkled sesame seeds over the top before baking, too. The taste wasn't "wow," but it's a new way to serve tuna - that those kids will eat - at least mine - & that's saying something! :) Of course, I suppose most kids would eat anything wrapped in a biscuit or cresent roll. Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsPestana
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Tasty! Made a few changes: *used egg sub *omitted salt *omitted pimento and add in red pepper flakes * ground peppercorn I tested putting the soup mix on some rolls from the start of baking and then 1/2 way through on others. The ones where I put the soup on first the soup was thicker. Neither turned out soggy. I backed mine on a cookie sheet. 2nd time making this: Baked in a 13x9 pan I put the tuna mix in the middle of the big part of the triangle and then wrapped the tuna leaving it open at the top. They puffed really nice even with the soup around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Loved this using canned salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I bought the bigger crescent rolls, and I had enough dough to fully wrape the tuna mixture. I substituted pimento with banana peppers to make it more spicy, and used Alfredo sauce instead of milk to evade the "soupy" texture. I spooned this thicker soup on too of the middle of each dumpling. Exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coconut Cashew Tuna Tartare

See how to make spicy tuna tartare with toasted cashews and coconut milk.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States