Tuna Curry in a Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Keeper!! Thanks for the recipe. I've recently started eating low-carb, and this recipe fits right in to my new lifestyle. I prefer red bell peppers over the green, so I used that, and I used 2 TBS of dried, minced onion - just because I didn't feel like cutting up a fresh onion. Other than that, I didn't make any changes. I also would suggest that you can substitute cooked chicken for the tuna, if desired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I can't believe how delicious this is, and how easy! I agree that a little extra curry powder gives it a kick and I added a bit of cayenne and small amount of sugar to make it slightly sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Yvette Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Easy and tasty. 1/2 c of sour cream is MORE than enough though. I made it with zucchini and tomato because thats what I had on hand -no bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Quick, easy, inexpensive. I doubled the curry powder and added a little crushed red pepper and cayenne because we like spicy. I also added some chopped celery, carrots, and tomatoes because I had some to use up. Served over white rice. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
very good, added a second can of tuna so I used all the sourcream, added extra teaspoon of curry and a teaspoon of cumin! very, very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was a great super easy and affordable weeknight meal that my entire family enjoyed. I did take the suggestion of others and upped the spice content by doubling the curry and adding some garam masala. If you plan to serve over rice or noodles you'll definitely want to use all of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe is inexpensive, quick, and full of protein. I amended the recipe so it is higher in protein and lower in fat. I used two cans of tuna and 1/2 cup sour cream. Next time I forget to defrost something for dinner, I'm breaking out the cans of tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
By itself, not too exciting - but this is how I used it: I made my own recipe for biscuits (2 c. flour 1 tbsp. baking powder 1/2 tsp. salt 1 tsp. sugar 1 stick butter (1/2 c.) 1/2 c. milk 1/4 c. mayonnaise 2 oz. shredded cheese [I used muenster but any cheddar would be fine too, probably softer is better] thyme, garlic, and parsley) I lined muffin tins with the biscuit dough, pressing it in so it was approx. 1/4 in thick on the bottom and sides I made the tuna curry as written here except I left out the peppers, used extra curry, and after removing from heat I added chopped celery I baked the biscuit muffins for 10 minutes at 400 deg, then scooped the tuna into the center of each, topped with Parmesan cheese and crushed mint leaves, and baked another 15 min or so until done DELICIOUS and big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was pretty bland and lacking in substance. I added a lot more curry powder and sauteed mushrooms to improve it. This is simply a quick sauce for a tuna noodle casserole, with curry added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
It's funny, I submitted an almost identical recipe a LONG time ago before I joined this wonderful site. It was a recipe my mom made us growing up and was always a favorite. I find that more garlic, onion, and pepper are needed. Also, it's really wonderful if you throw a handful of raisins in with the rice as it finishes cooking, to give them time to plump up. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States