Tuna Coney Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Very good, we did skip the pickles personal preference and used chedder cheese cubes that we had on hand. Thank you for the post. Great twist on Tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I think it was the sweet pickles that got me. Might try with kosher pickles. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Yummy! Very easy to make and delicious as well! Husband loved it.. will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I went a little off recipe with this one. I don't like onions or green peppers, so I didn't add those. I like olives but didn't have any so I left those out, too. But this is a great recipe for customizing to your personal taste! I think you could make the tuna how you like it, then make the coneys. In fact, I think this is so great, I am passing this to a friend who has a Boy Scout's troop. She is always looking for recipes and I think this would be a perfect camping recipe! Great for kids! Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe has been in my family for several generations. Everyone loves them! Pickles aren't in my family recipe, but it sounds good. I use cheese slices and place 1/2 slice on each side of bun before I add the tuna mixture. My Mom liked to spread "Cheese Whiz" on the buns. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
My mom always made these for us and now I make them for my kids. I make exactly as the recipe says and they are great. For parties, I cut the buns in half so they're smaller and then after I take them out of the oven, I put them in the slow cooker on warm to keep them heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I don't really understand why this doesn't have higher reviews me and my kids love it...my husband doesn't care for the eggs in it...but other than that I make this once a month. The kids love getting served their dinner in a foil wrap. They are a little messy to eat though so keep some napkins near.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
i actually had everything to make these. i was surprised at how the bun crisped up nicely. i thought these were really good but hubs said the filling was mushy. he wont eat tuna melts and this was my way of sneaking one past him- hey, at least he ate it! i was going to serve this w/ coleslaw but it was too cold so i made cabbage au gratin from this site(tastes a lot like mac and cheese) instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were really good! I was looking for something different to do w/ leftover hot dog buns (besides the obvious), and stumbled upon this recipe. I did omit the hard boiled eggs, and added an extra can of tuna. I didn't measure everything exactly, just did it to taste, also adding a little salt and pepper. The flavor was great. I really enjoyed this take on a traditional tuna sandwich/melt. I will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States