Tuna-Cado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Actually, I first tried this at a Chilean Restaurant as a salad years ago and then just tried replicating at home ever since. I believe they mixed chopped onions and tomatoes into the tuna with olive oil before filling the avocado, then sprinkling with finely chopped cilantro and a small dollop of mayo. They then placed the filled avocado over a bed of lettuce with slices of firm boiled potatoes with a drop of mayo on each. Funny combination, but I got hooked! They call it "Palta Rellena".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is astonishingly good for something so simple. I can see where this makes an excellent backpacking food. Also, if you wanted to dress it up, the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shara Mercado Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
So good. I tweaked my raw avocado by going with white tuna in water, tsp of wasabi, a few shakes of black pepper and just a pinch of salt as originally written. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is my new midnight snack! Sometimes I add a tad bit of mayo to the tuna though :D Also, sometimes I eat this with tortilla chips. But sometimes I just eat it as is. I really want to experiment more with this recipe by adding spices to olive oil and then mixing that in with tuna packed in water. Not a huge fan of the IDEA of packed in vegetable oil although the taste was great. Anyway, thanks for this new idea! edit: My new favorite way to eat this is by mixing in a *few* chipotle peppers in adobo sauce with the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I filled it with Barbies Tuna Salad found on this site. I think next time I will just use the tuna with oil. I like simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
For all the fish that got away on our camping trips, found this to be a great "substitute" for the fresh fish. My new love for avocado's and old love for tuna made for an easy meal when needed after a long hike. We seasoned with salt and pepper and just a small dollop of sour cream, which it didn't really need, but was in the cooler calling us to use him. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Great recipe! Wonderful flavor. I had it topped with cherry tomatoes. Next time I will add a crisp slice of bacon crumbled also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
delicious! I LOVE avocados. I guess I never thought of mixing tuna with avocado instead of mayo. I think this would be great topped with some cheese and tomato as well, pimento, etc. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Just had this for lunch in a bowl, and looked up on allrecipes to see if there were recipes for it. Surprised this is the only one! So simple and good, and no extra salt needed. First ate something similar to this at a restaurant in Mexico City for lunch, they served the tuna in the half-shell avocado w/ a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Cashew Tuna Tartare

See how to make spicy tuna tartare with toasted cashews and coconut milk.

Chef John's Tonnato Sauce

Creamy sauce or dip made from tuna and anchovy fillets.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States