Tuna and Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was freaking awesome. Really super yummy. I actually ate all four servings, just right out of the bowl, but I'm not ashamed. Everything went together perfectly and seriously was a party in my mouth. YUM, DUDE! Next time, I'd like to try this stuffed in a hollowed out tomato or red pepper, and adding the artichoke hearts as suggested by the recipe's author. NOTE: I did use organic ingredients when I could and a small lemon. I rolled the lemon on the countertop while pushing down slightly so I could get the most juice out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very light and filling. I always use tuna in water and it was still very flavorful. It really didn't even need salt and pepper as the onion added so much. Will keep in my favorites file. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by FTLSWEETIE
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was absolutely fantastic! I made it to the recipe. My only substitutions were adding lemon peel from the fresh lemon and since I didn't have tuna in olive oil, I used two packets of low-sodium tuna + 1 Tbsp Olive Oil. I also went with the author's suggestion of adding drained, chopped artichoke hearts. Since my husband is on Phase 1 of South Beach, we served this over lettuce and it made a perfect light dinner on a hot, summer night. The lemon gives the perfect amount of brightness and the red onion that added zing! Thank you so much for a fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FTLSWEETIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Easy to make and really tasty. I hate olives, so I added onion and red bell pepper. I'll have a little in a pita for lunch tomorrow. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was quite good but I added a few things that for my taste made it GREAT. I added capers, lemon zest, sundried tomatoes, English cucumber. Didn't have red onion substituted yellow onion and didn't have fresh parsley. Husband loved it too! He didn't know he liked chickpeas! This will be a regular dis at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I live alone and have a very busy job, plus I am Type II diabetic so I needed to find some recipes that would be not just healthy but very quick and easy to make. This is, hands down, the best thing I have found yet. I experimented a bit by throwing in a stalk of celery, and some good quality hot salsa, and it was as delicious as anything I've tasted in years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Not sure what makes this salad so good, but it is delicious!!! The only thing I left out was the black olives because I didn't have any on hand. I added some fresh diced jalapeno to give it a little kick. I didn't have the tuna in oil so I just added a little oil (you can control how much oil this way). Yummmy will be making this again. I didn't have much feta cheese, def. use the feta makes it so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
VERY healthy and satisfying dish. I got tuna from Trader Joes marinaded with lemon and salt/pepper instead of adding it to the salad. I would suggest using only 1/4 of red onion. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This sounded so... interesting... but I have to say it is pretty good. I don't really like tuna but it's good for you so I'm trying to eat it. I used tuna in water, drained and then added olive oil. I also used 2 cans of tuna, omitted the onion and used onion powder instead, dried parsley 4 oz of feta cheese. It's pretty good in Ritz crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
A quick and easy dinner. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States