Tumbleweeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I had this recipe in the past and lost it. I was so glad to find it here. Awesome is all I can say. For those having problems with crumbling, you are over heating the butterscotch chips. Since microwave oven wattage varies so much, I would suggest stirring after 30 seconds to see if they are starting to melt. And keep checking and stirring every 15 - 30 sec. if needed. Once the chips soften, usually a little bit of stirring is all it takes for the rest of the chips to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Hi! Wanted to comment for the person who said when they melted their chips that they were dry and crumbly.... they were most likely cooked too long in the microwave/got too hot. Just melt for a few seconds maybe 15 to 30 seconds at a time then stir then put back into microwave and repeat steps again just until melted and then stop or they will come "out of solution" so to speak and begin to transform into a hard crumbly mess. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I've made these for several family functions with few to no leftovers. However, I melt the butterscotch chips and pb on the stove at low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethany
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were delicious--use white chocolate and add food coloring for a festive spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was the easiest thing I have every made. They came out so good. Gave the recipe to 2 friends who thought they were great. Kids would love to make these also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Made these for a party and nobody touched them. They aren't very attractive, so perhaps people were scared of them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
These are great and different from the usual snack foods. Extremely simple to make and everyone can't say enough about how good they are. They disappear immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I agree that the butterscotch chips were crumbly and wouldn't melt. I ended up adding a little water and then had to form into balls as they wouldn't stick together. wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUSTJACKIE
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I made these with chow mein noodles instead of the potato sticks, they came out very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong but my chips never melted they just got crumbly and dried out looking. I will have to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States