Tsao Mi Fun (Taiwanese Fried Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
i'm not sure if i can give a true review as i did not follow the recipe 100%.. i added more pork and different veggies and left out the mushrooms and the dried shrimp.. i feel like i can usually alter a recipe a bit (given what i have around the house) without it compromising the dish.. but maybe that's not the case here.. we both didn't care for the end product and found ourselves adding different sauces to make it more palatable.. i'm giving this a 3 seeing as how i didn't follow the recipe exactly.. but it's more like a 2 for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Thanks for the very yummy and authentic recipe. The only thing I did different was to add the water that I soaked the shitake mushrooms in to the vermicelli on the stove to soften noodles and to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Out of this world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
this is fantastic! but makes such a large amount I will halve it or make it for a party next time. would make a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Something new for me! I used mung bean glass noodles and omitted the pork and cabbage (not a huge fan of cabbage and I just ate pork the day before). I also used regular mushrooms instead of the Chinese black ones, as they are hard to come by in my area without going to an overpriced specialty store. I also threw in some toasted sesame salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I thought this was VERY good. I did not have any shrimp tho. I marinated chicken overnight instead of pork. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Riker
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Overall a good recipe. Easy to follow and the taste is pretty authentic. The only thing that may vary is the amount of time to soak the rice vermicelli. It really depends on the brand. The one I used took 30 minutes to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Awesome recipe! Just don't use too much five spice or dried shrimp, as they can both overwhelm the dish. Also couldn't find black mushrooms at the asian grocery, so just use regular mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My dad loves Mi Fun from the local restraunt so I wanted to try making it for him. (He said if I'd keep making it for him he'd never have to buy it again:) I made a few changes - I like to do my eggs like the egg in egg drop soup instead of the pancake. I also omit all the ingredients involving the pork, skip the mushrooms and use regular shrimp. I use way more cabbage as we all like it. And at the end I add salt, pepper and soy sauce to taste. I'm so happy to now be able to make this myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Frick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by Janice
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Tasty rice noodle dish! I found that the noodles seemed a little hard after pan-frying for a little bit, so I added more water and covered to soften the noodles. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States