T's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was my first time making any kind of fry, and I had trouble with this recipe. The fries were large and limp. Though they tasted fine, they weren't at all crisp. For those who try this recipe, I'd suggest cutting the fries thinner and baking them on parchment paper so they don't stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
WOW! These are SO good! I love sweet potatoes and am always looking for new ways to cook them. Since the original directions doesn't tell you how thick to cook them, I read through the other cook's suggestions and ended up cutting them about 1/2" all around. I only microwaved them for 3 minutes (also, after reading some of the other comments I didn't want them too mushy), and they only needed to cook about 20 minutes in the oven. Next time I will broil them, like one person suggested, so that they are nice and crisp on the outside. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I love the lemon pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I followed the instructions and they were far from crispy. Turned out soft, limp and kind of mushey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Don't but them in the microwave if you want them crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Quite mushy. flavor was OK but texture left some to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BretABaker
Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These fries taste very good; however, I found that (from cooking them both with and without the prep) They either turn out too crispy or too flimsy. This could be my fault though, maybe I needed to cut the fries a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eadillehay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These are really tasty! My only complaint is I couldn't get them crispy, but they are still good. I'd make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Tasty recipe. Used yams, tried to make the french fries thin. Steamed them like it called for and convection baked them at 425 for 15 min and turned them, cook add'l. 9 min and came out crispy. Even those that don't usually like yams loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Even if you fry sweet potatoes for fries, they don't stay crisp for long. There is a lot of water in them. This causes them to not crisp too well. I have drizzled mine with olive oil and sea salt, cut thin, and cook on 425. They seem to crisp some then. But this is a great recipe. They are yummy. Love the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
OMG- I just made these, with a couple adjustments. . YUMMY!!!!! I took the others advice, mixed sweet potatoes with olive oil, italian spices, onion powder, sea salt and pepper, and put on cookie sheet. Let them cook for 40 min and YUM! They are softer becaus they are sweet potatoes, but they are not mushy. I also cut them thinner and SMALLER. SO good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States