T's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
couldn't quite get them crispy but they were still amazing! used chipotle pepper seasoning instead of italian and lemon pepper - came out delicious and spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Instead of using traditional sweet potatoes I used purple yams. I omitted the microwave step and only cut half of the yam into fry-sized pieces. They came out nice and crispy thanks to the advice of others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Tasty! I don't think they need to bake for 30 minutes though - some of them got a little black. I read what other people said about them coming out crispier if they weren't microwaved as long, so I only put them in for two minutes. The texture was just right when they first came out of the oven. Unfortunately I had to cover them up to keep them warm while I got the rest of the dinner on the table, and they got a little soft. Still very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I am giving this 3 stars because the precooking in water is not necessary. Second time around, I just precooked the whole potato for a few minutes just to soften a bit to make the potato easier to slice. The secret is to keep them dry. Dry them well with a paper towel if necessary. Then cut them into 1/2 to 3/4 slices. Make sure they are square as the points burn easily if too pointy. Toss them in a ziplock bag with the olive oil then on another bag dust them slightly with cornstarch before putting then in the oven. This will make them crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I was very disappointed in these fries. Even after reading the reviews and shortening the microwave time, turning fries half way through cooking time, and letting the fries cook longer in the oven, they still came out mushy and burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiliaAerynRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very good and easy to make, we all loved them and the left overs I used in a salad the next day. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindagwynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Deming, Washington, USA
Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The family thought these were fantastic. Following others suggestions, I did not cook in the microwave prior to baking. I simply sliced mine real thin and they cooked up in 30 minutes and the edges of most of them were crispy. The thinner you slice, the better I think they crisp up, if that's what you're looking for. Keeping this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
A little bland, so I added extra spices. I would also recommend cooking longer to get the fries crispier. They were very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong but these burn before they get crunchy. They do taste good though (the least burned ones) & seasoning is great. I've tried twice but still haven't gotten it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used 1 large sweet potato and halved the rest of the ingredients. My 5 year old son loved them. He had tried a salted sweet potato fry last week and didn't like it, so I was concerned he wouldn't like this one, but he loved it. He was also really impressed that we could call it a healthy fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States