T's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
These were great. In the past I have only tried to sweeten up sweet potato fries but this seasoning was amazing. I also struggled with getting them crunchy,but they were great nonetheless! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
the spice goes well with the sweet. they burned before ever getting crispy, though. i'll keep trying...the mushy potatoes were good. would be even better if i could get them to cook right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
These are awesome! My boyfriend, who is a very traditional meat and potatos person, actually loved them. And he frowned when I told him I was making them. I don't use the italian seasoning, but use everything else in the recipe and they turn out nice and browned and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I love sweet potatoes and this one is a keeper! The only thing that went wrong is I overbaked the sweet potatoes which made them on the mushy side but it was still edible. It might have been because I was using the gas stove and the heating element needed to be adjusted? Either way it is worth keeping and making again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
couldn't quite get them crispy but they were still amazing! used chipotle pepper seasoning instead of italian and lemon pepper - came out delicious and spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Instead of using traditional sweet potatoes I used purple yams. I omitted the microwave step and only cut half of the yam into fry-sized pieces. They came out nice and crispy thanks to the advice of others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Tasty! I don't think they need to bake for 30 minutes though - some of them got a little black. I read what other people said about them coming out crispier if they weren't microwaved as long, so I only put them in for two minutes. The texture was just right when they first came out of the oven. Unfortunately I had to cover them up to keep them warm while I got the rest of the dinner on the table, and they got a little soft. Still very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I am giving this 3 stars because the precooking in water is not necessary. Second time around, I just precooked the whole potato for a few minutes just to soften a bit to make the potato easier to slice. The secret is to keep them dry. Dry them well with a paper towel if necessary. Then cut them into 1/2 to 3/4 slices. Make sure they are square as the points burn easily if too pointy. Toss them in a ziplock bag with the olive oil then on another bag dust them slightly with cornstarch before putting then in the oven. This will make them crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I was very disappointed in these fries. Even after reading the reviews and shortening the microwave time, turning fries half way through cooking time, and letting the fries cook longer in the oven, they still came out mushy and burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiliaAerynRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very good and easy to make, we all loved them and the left overs I used in a salad the next day. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindagwynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Deming, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States