Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My daughter and I are already huge Brussels Sprouts fans, but I was looking for a recipe that might entice my two boys to try them. i omitted the lemon juice, but made no other changes. I did get my boys to try a bite, they still aren't crazy about them, but these were very tasty and I will definitely be fixing them this way again. As always, THANKS, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Everybody gave me grief for making brussel sprouts for Easter... until they tried them. I doubled the recipe and they were completely gone. Everybody wanted the recipe -- even those who claimed not to like brussel sprouts. Not sure about the cooking time (45 seconds) as mine were still raw then but no big deal -- just cook them until you get them how you like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
So simple and easy but still very tasty. I'll bet it would taste really good with balsamic vinegar and maybe some slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Pretty good, but not as good as roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Even as a lifelong brussels sprouts hater, I know how healthy they are. I've been trying to like them. I used another recipe from this site a few months ago, I gagged. I came across this recipe a few days ago and made them just for me last night, using 6 sprouts. Since I had read the reviews the day before, I forgot that they should be cooked longer than 45 seconds. Some of the outer leaves were too tough to eat, but I devoured the parts that were edible. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I probably used more oil and butter, I don't really measure those kinds of things. I cooked them until they had a bit of brown and the loose bits were wilted. I didn't use the lemon juice, instead I sprinkled with garlic and a little salt. Soooo good, but then I do like brussels sprouts anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I am not a brussel sprout eater and neither were my kids BUT I made this tonight for dinner and we all loved it. I followed the recipe as directed. Kids said it "didn't taste like sprouts" so....I will definitely be making this dish again. Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I hate brussels sprouts, but I absolutely loved these. Followed the recipe exactly, until it came to the fresh lemon. I only had limes, so I used half a lime. My husband couldn't believe how good they were. I don't know how many people the recipes was supposed to feed, but two of us devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Oh, my goodness... this was amazing. Beats steamed or microwaved sprouts all hollow! They needed about 4 minutes before they started to brown, but I was starting with frozen sprouts which I'd had to thaw briefly in hot water in order to slice them. So, yes, it works with frozen sprouts too. Just be careful when adding half-frozen sprouts to the hot butter-oil mixture, because the veggies are wet and will spatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
The great thing about this recipe is that its super easy to make, and only takes a few minutes. Perfect when you are looking for a veggie to add to a dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States