Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was fantastic! What a great change from the whole spouts and its amazing the flavor with just a couple of simple ingretients. Almost converted my son and he HATES brussels sprouts. For my husband and I though this is a winner and I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I upped both the butter and olive oil to tablespoons. I did saute these a little longer than the recipe asked for, only because mine were not quite ready after 45 seconds. Though my family was lukewarm about this, I loved it. What my family didn't want, I happily ate for them. VERY good. Next time, I think I might throw in some chopped shallots. I think that would make this dish even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These Brussels sprouts are indeed “truly delicious”. For years I have used the Julia Child method of lightly steaming the sprouts and then thinly slicing and sautéing them in butter. I now know that the steaming was an unnecessary step. Mine took longer than 45 seconds to soften but were still speedy and effortless to prepare. Most people who profess to dislike this healthy vegetable have usually only had the overcooked variety. This recipe will surely bring them around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
First, I'll confess that I actually like Brussels sprouts! I started slicing them long ago to trick my husband into eating them! For the longest time he thought it was cabbage, lol! Anyway, this recipe is really outstanding, and the lemon juice brightens it up nicely. I almost follow it exactly except I add teaspoon of lemon zest and cut back on the lemon juice. I also sprinkle red pepper flakes onto the finished dish. I cook mine longer than 45 seconds, probably closer to 2 minutes, and they still have the nice bright color and texture. I served this with grilled chicken wings and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I bought ready to cook brussell sprouts that were already seasoned with salt and pepper and a lemon pepper seasoning (they weren't frozen, they were in the produce section of the store, kind of by the bagged salads). I cooked a little longer than it said to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is superb! I reckon I'll always do my brussels sprouts this way. Thank you kindly Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Deeeeeeeelicious!!!!! The next time we cook them, we're going to add a little garlic and see how that goes. Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmi & Lizzi In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Really delicious, and easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I have always disliked brussel sprouts and would not eat them anywhere. This recipe is fabulous! The only adjustment I made was adding some freshly crushed garlic to the pan when I add the butter. I still probably won't eat whole brussel sprouts but, will certainly make this recipe again and enjoy eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States