Truly Coconutty Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe was WAY too involved and complicated to warrant the outcome. The flavor was good, but not good enough to make me want to ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe! I did make some changes for the filling, instead of a vanilla bean, I substituted the regular sugar for vanilla sugar that I always have on hand so the vanilla bean taste is still present. Finally, to cut some calories, I used skim milk. Other than perhaps missing out on some richness from the whole milk, the custard sets just fine for all the cornstarch that goes into it and you don't really miss it. Your standard non-dairy whipped topping also works in place of the whipped cream. In fact, I suggest it readily if 1) you're trying to cut calories again and 2) you're not planning on having the entire pie eaten in one sitting. Whipped cream can revert back into liquid after a few hours and will ruin the leftover pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOLANKA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Delicious pie. I bought a refrigerated pie crust, however, and pre-baked it myself - I didn't make the actual pie crust from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was good, but wonderful and it took a lot of time, money and effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
this was my first try at coconut cream pie..... WOW easy & packed with flavor!!!!! LOVE this pie!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lb22
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
very good pie, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
By far the best coconut cream pie I have made Not wanting to heat the oven I used a purchased graham cracker crust . For the filling: My can of coconut milk was only 15 oz, so I made up the difference by adding three additional oz of milk to the required amount. I added a good cup and a half of toasted coconut (waste not want not) and only about 5 oz of sugar due to coconut being so high in sugar. I only had two whole eggs, and that was perfectly fine. I forgot to stir in the butter and omitted the vanilla, I have no vanilla beans and was going to use extract but after tasting the pudding I decided it wasn't called for. I added a few drops of yellow food coloring, as the coconut milk was an ugly grey color. . By the way that super cheap packaged flaked coconut toasts up quite nicely in a toaster oven, but really quickly, so take extra care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Overall this was a great pie. I made mine in a tart pan instead of a pie pan and only put the crust on the bottom. The crust is delicious! I used half coconut milk and half coconut cream for the mixture and still added some Lorann's Gourmet Coconut flavoring oil to it. I didn't have flaked coconut, which I will make sure I add next time I make this. I think it is needed mostly for texture than anything else. I ate a maraschino cherry with each piece. Delightfully coconutty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I, too, used the Pillsbury ready-made crust from the refrigerated section of the grocery store. We really liked this recipe, but I do have another recipe that I like a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I cheated and used a pre-made crust. I also did not use any flaked coconut. Instead, I bought a coconut, opend it up and scrapped out the insides and toasted it. I added this to the filling. This recipe is wonderful!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States