Truly Coconutty Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday (his favorite flavor of pie). We both loved it, although it was very rich. At least the richness made it last for more than a day. lol This was my first experience with scraping a vanilla bean and it took me a good while to split it initially. The editor's note about saving the dried vanilla bean in sugar is great. Just that touch of vanilla in coffee with cream is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Now that's Coconut Pie! Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I had never used vanilla beans before, but it was soooo worth it! This recipe is awesome! I've made it at least three times in the past month, because everybody just keeps wanting more. :) I have to admit though, I did use pre-made crusts to save time, but I let the rum soak into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made this pie this week to go with my husband's gumbo dinner. It is a very expensive pie to make. But everyone that ate it gave it rave reviews. It is definitely one to make for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe, especially my husband. This will definitely be going in the family collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Overall this was a great pie. I made mine in a tart pan instead of a pie pan and only put the crust on the bottom. The crust is delicious! I used half coconut milk and half coconut cream for the mixture and still added some Lorann's Gourmet Coconut flavoring oil to it. I didn't have flaked coconut, which I will make sure I add next time I make this. I think it is needed mostly for texture than anything else. I ate a maraschino cherry with each piece. Delightfully coconutty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I cheated and used a pre-made crust. I also did not use any flaked coconut. Instead, I bought a coconut, opend it up and scrapped out the insides and toasted it. I added this to the filling. This recipe is wonderful!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I had very high expectations for this pie because of the reviews and also the ingredients and time invested. It was good, but not worth 5 stars. Coconut cream pie is one of my favorites! I've made one using a relatives recipe which I feel is better. This pie is very time consuming, I made it over the course of the day...from beginning to end, it took 5 hours. I liked the idea of each layer having some form of coconut, however, I still like my relative's recipe better. If you have no other recipe for coconut cream pie that rates a "5", you will probably love this one. I'm sticking to my relative's old stand-by recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this pie for a potluck dinner. Even though I did not make the crust (used a pre-made frozen one), the result was a fluffy, coconutty, decadent pie. Loved it! Using a frozen crust made the whole process and clean up a lot easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFerreira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I, too, used the Pillsbury ready-made crust from the refrigerated section of the grocery store. We really liked this recipe, but I do have another recipe that I like a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States