True Wisconsin Bloody Mary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Hubby made these for us this afternoon and boy, did they hit the spot! The olive brine was a different addition from what we're used to, and hubby added his own spin with a little horseradish. After rimming the glass with celery salt he garnished it with green olives, a fresh chilled shrimp and a leafy stalk of celery. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Love the "mary's" ... but for me, a healthy dose of horse radish is a must. Also like to use 1/2 V8 & 1/2 Clamato...and add Old Bay Seasoning (for my East coast hubby) -- then add a beef stick and a small chaser of beer...life is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The secret to any good Bloody Mary is to pour in enough dill sauce to cover the bottom of the empty tumbler, and then proceed with the other ingredients and directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a great start to the recipe. I make a couple of minor changes. Like some of the other reviews, I definitely add a big pinch of prepared horseradish and a big teaspoon of A-1. As for the olive juice, that's definitely an option, but my favorite is banana pepper juice...you can go hot or mild depending on your preference. Then, I replace the rimming celery salt with a 50/50 mixture of cajun seasoning and seasoning salt. Add a little football and you've got a perfect Saturday morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I just made this recipe last night, and it was the BEST! I made it exactly the same except I used zesty pickle juice and pickles instead. Mostly because I was out of olives. Will definately try olive juice though. Maybe it is a Wisconsin thing, but I always love Clamato the best. :o) If you like a very thick V8 style bloody mary, this is probably not for you though. I added slightly less hot sauce the second time, because I found it to be a bit spicey for my taste. If you do not like them very spicey add the hot sauce to taste. We are having bloody marys this weekend, so my husband wanted me to make pitchers of this recipe for everyone! I will use this recipe over and over! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Great recipe. I like a shot of beer on the side thrown in after half the bloody mary is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is the best. This is the same recipe I use, but instead of olives/olive juice I use pickles and pickle juice. But hey, I am from Wisconsin and I love Clamato in my bloody mary! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I'm from Wisconsin and I make my bloody's exactly like this (different garnishes of course - try a jalapeno pickled green bean!) except for one glaring omission: BEER! Add a splash of beer (from Wisconsin) for the true Wisconsin Bloody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Alright, it's sort of authentic. I bartend in Green Bay and I make mine a little differently. I build mine in this order: Ice, 5 shakes celery salt, Squeeze of juice from one lemon wedge, 5 shakes Worcestershire, 2 drops steak sauce, 3 drops Tabasco, 2 shakes Old Bay Seasoning, *Vodka, Tomato juice (stir after adding or Worcestershire will pool at bottom), 2 fresh olives, 2 shrimp, 1 beef stick, 1 stick Colby-Jack Cheese, 1 pickle, and 1 fresh lemon wedge - That's an authentic Wisconsin brunch Bloody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
As a Wisconsin bartender, I can attest that this recipe is quite authentic. In Madison, we often substitute a pickle for the celery garnish, and pickle brine in addition to the olive brine. Beer (especially a good stout) is a good addition, but I think beer is best served separately with the bloody as a chaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bloody Mary Cocktail

Say hello to the perfect brunch companion.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Fuzzy Navel Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix up a peachy fuzzy navel cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States