True Wisconsin Bloody Mary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I'm from Wisconsin and I make my bloody's exactly like this (different garnishes of course - try a jalapeno pickled green bean!) except for one glaring omission: BEER! Add a splash of beer (from Wisconsin) for the true Wisconsin Bloody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Perfect! I used a pickle instead of celery stalk! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer-cita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Love the "mary's" ... but for me, a healthy dose of horse radish is a must. Also like to use 1/2 V8 & 1/2 Clamato...and add Old Bay Seasoning (for my East coast hubby) -- then add a beef stick and a small chaser of beer...life is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
It's a traditional "Caesar" in Canada. Now I know how to order it when I'm visiting the US.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blind River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Great recipe. I like a shot of beer on the side thrown in after half the bloody mary is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a great start to the recipe. I make a couple of minor changes. Like some of the other reviews, I definitely add a big pinch of prepared horseradish and a big teaspoon of A-1. As for the olive juice, that's definitely an option, but my favorite is banana pepper juice...you can go hot or mild depending on your preference. Then, I replace the rimming celery salt with a 50/50 mixture of cajun seasoning and seasoning salt. Add a little football and you've got a perfect Saturday morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe, the only thing I do differently is also add a dash of steak sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very Tasty. The only thing it is missing is the horseradish. The shrimp reminds me of the most wonderful Bloody Mary we had in Newport Beach, Calif. a few years back!! Gotta have a Giant Shrinp. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Hubby made these for us this afternoon and boy, did they hit the spot! The olive brine was a different addition from what we're used to, and hubby added his own spin with a little horseradish. After rimming the glass with celery salt he garnished it with green olives, a fresh chilled shrimp and a leafy stalk of celery. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I just made this recipe last night, and it was the BEST! I made it exactly the same except I used zesty pickle juice and pickles instead. Mostly because I was out of olives. Will definately try olive juice though. Maybe it is a Wisconsin thing, but I always love Clamato the best. :o) If you like a very thick V8 style bloody mary, this is probably not for you though. I added slightly less hot sauce the second time, because I found it to be a bit spicey for my taste. If you do not like them very spicey add the hot sauce to taste. We are having bloody marys this weekend, so my husband wanted me to make pitchers of this recipe for everyone! I will use this recipe over and over! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bloody Mary Cocktail

Say hello to the perfect brunch companion.

Mai Tai

A tropical cocktail made with coconut rum and pineapple juice.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States