True Maryland Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I had about a half pound of crab to use and gave this recipe a try (scaled down -- thanks for that feature, AllRecipes). I'm not a crab cake purist, but I thought it was delicious. I did not fry the cakes, though; I sauteed them in a little olive oil. I wanted a crispy texture, so I patted some panko crumbs on the outside before I put them in the pan. I had no yellow mustard, but Dijon worked fine. I added about a teaspoon of Sriracha and served them with a spicy remoulade. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I was simply disappointed with this recipe. My heart just broke. I've had many a crab cake. And this one had less breading to the recipe that I was tickled pink about. While mixing the ingredients prior to frying, the flavor was rather descent. 1st off...3 cups of oil to fry in?? I couldn't believe that. It was way too much, I tried with 1 cup and when I put in the 1st one...it spread and broke apart all over the pan. It wouldn't hold it's shape at all in that much oil. So I cleaned up the mess and tried again by cutting the oil down to 1/2 cup in my frying pan and used an ice cream scooper to portion out each patty...it worked better as I didn't spread each all the way until I saw I was getting a nice color on the bottom and they were staying together better. While they looked beautiful...they ended up loosing the flavors all together. Totally and utterly flavorless. I'm still totally shocked. The only way my family would eat them was to whip up some Garlic Dill Aioli and spread over the top to add flavor. As is, I won't be making these again. Sorry, and to think I don't ever remember Maryland Crab cakes like this. Somethings a miss here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I substituted ranch dressing for the mayo and breaded and fried them, everyone loved them, said better than any ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is the best MARYLAND CRAB CAKE recipe that i have ever used. I've used it 3 times and everyone loves it. I made two changes. one I used Old Bay instead of parsley and I didn't use mayo (never have any) and it still came out great! Thanks Robert for this fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai Blaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am a not so very good cook, or so my kids tell me, and despite the fact that I am almost sure i messed this up just a bit, they tasted fantastic! Super easy and really yummy! Thanks I did use old bay instead of parsley as well, and LOVED the fact that I could cook this with things I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Old bay automatically makes this a five star recipe and if you are not from the Eastern Shore of MD where we good country folk live and breathe seafood, yes you would beleive that you broil a real MD Crabcake and not fry it...NOT SO! ALL of the BEST restaurants on the Eastern SHore fry them...Old Mill, Suicide's...can NOT wait to get back! And for the lady who said it was a crab pancake, use less pancake mix. There are MANY variations, you may want to try bread crumbs. I have even done them with Hawaiian rolls. No imitating a MD Crab cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I thought these were pretty good. I added Old Bay Seasoning. Served as an appetizer for a wine party over mesculin salad with a vinagrette. was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I was born and live in Baltimore Maryland and worked at three fine dining resteraunts growing up. A maryland crab cake is crab meat, mayonaise, eggs,bread crumbs, and spices, the BEST is the McCormick crab cake classic recipe its nots cheap but it allows the rich clean flavor of the crab meat to come through in the finish product if they sell the seasoning in your supermarket try it..p.s. A MARYLAND CRABCAKE IS BROILED NEVER FRIED OR PANFRIED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very easy and delicious….I substituted walleye for the crab meat and sautéed onion, parsley, garlic and shredded carrot and added it to the flaked walleye, kept the other ingredients that the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
It is a wonderful recipe, it's very quick and easy and they looked gorgeous when I put them on the table.... even my picky 3 year old wanted a taste!!!! I used canned crab meat because that's what I had on hand.... next time I will definitely use fresh and a little Old Bay seasoning. Perfect 10!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States