True Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I am an enthusiastic Manhattan drinker ("on the rocks with bourbon, no bitters, please!"), and I couldn't have written this recipe better myself. Everything is accounted for - up or down, bitters or none - and the whiskey:vermouth ratio is just to my personal taste! Seriously, I could have written this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
"DELISH"! What more can I say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
GOOD MANHATTAN RECIPE. L LOVE THEM AND THIS ONE IS PERFECT. I WOULD RECOMMEND USING GOOD BOOZE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I admit the ratio is the same but I have been making Manhattans with a jigger (1 1/2 oz) of whiskey, 3/4 oz. of sweet vermouth and a glass filled with ice. Naturally, cherries!! LOVE this drink -- it's my signature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My favorite drink of all times. If you don't care for the bite of say Makers Mark or other whiskeys, try Brandy Manhattan, much smoother without the bark or bite. My preference is a French Brandy called Raynal. It is 1 step below the grade of Cognac. Very relaxing. Take care they will sneak up on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made this with Jack Daniels and the husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is fantastic! For superior taste, and an even truer Manhattan, we always use Canadian rye whisky, not American bourbon. This is our favorite cold weather cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Oh my, this is my Dad's all time favorite drink and I'll never forget the first time he made me one. It was a bonding experience for us both. I agree with others that the Whiskey/Vermmouth ratio is definitely 2:1. I use Maker's Mark Whiskey and like my Dad taught me - spill some cherry juice in and garnish with a maraschino cherry. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a good mix, as others said, 2:1 is a bit better. But please make sure you use a high Rye content whiskey, as that is the final hint of flavor that makes this a fantastic drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pineypal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
My grandma had one of these every night for years and years and she lived to be 93! I agree that the correct recipe should be 2 parts whiskey to 1 part vermouth. Add a little cherry juice, serve on the rocks, and you've got a classic cocktail! Wild Turkey Whiskey is awesome in this drink. Best served with cheese and crackers during happy hour! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States