True Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This may be the "True Manhattan" recipe, but I have been making Manhattan's for years now and what I've found makes them great is make the Whiskey/Vermouth 2-1 ratio then add grenadine or Cherry juice out of a jar of cherries till the color turns red. A few more calories but are they good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Oh my, this is my Dad's all time favorite drink and I'll never forget the first time he made me one. It was a bonding experience for us both. I agree with others that the Whiskey/Vermmouth ratio is definitely 2:1. I use Maker's Mark Whiskey and like my Dad taught me - spill some cherry juice in and garnish with a maraschino cherry. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
My grandma had one of these every night for years and years and she lived to be 93! I agree that the correct recipe should be 2 parts whiskey to 1 part vermouth. Add a little cherry juice, serve on the rocks, and you've got a classic cocktail! Wild Turkey Whiskey is awesome in this drink. Best served with cheese and crackers during happy hour! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is fantastic! For superior taste, and an even truer Manhattan, we always use Canadian rye whisky, not American bourbon. This is our favorite cold weather cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
GOOD MANHATTAN RECIPE. L LOVE THEM AND THIS ONE IS PERFECT. I WOULD RECOMMEND USING GOOD BOOZE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I admit the ratio is the same but I have been making Manhattans with a jigger (1 1/2 oz) of whiskey, 3/4 oz. of sweet vermouth and a glass filled with ice. Naturally, cherries!! LOVE this drink -- it's my signature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is an excellent cocktail but made with Southern Comfort it is even much more delicious...try it you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
"DELISH"! What more can I say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I am an enthusiastic Manhattan drinker ("on the rocks with bourbon, no bitters, please!"), and I couldn't have written this recipe better myself. Everything is accounted for - up or down, bitters or none - and the whiskey:vermouth ratio is just to my personal taste! Seriously, I could have written this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I only rated it 4 stars because a 'perfect' manhatten calls for a 'dash' of dry vermouth along with the other ingredients. Bitters optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States