True Lancashire Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Great use for leftover lamb or beef. I think it would be even better with some peas and/or carrots added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Was looking for a recipe to used up some leftover lamb when I came across this particular recipe. Everyone in the family loved it right down to my picky eater. This was easy to prepare and made just enough to have leftovers for lunch the next day. I did the following changes. For the potatoes I used large reds because that was what I happen to have had on hand,sliced them 1/4 inch thick with my mandolin and rather then boil, I steamed them to make it easier to get the correct consistency without the fear of over cooking. I chopped the bacon before frying then once browned and removed from the pan, I proceeded to saute the onions in the bacon fat which I believe added to the flavor of the dish until they were soft. I layed according to the recipe direction, then placed the dish in the oven cooking according to the directions and served with a side salad. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
3 stars - good use of leftovers - potatoes delicious (like a good roast potato). Overall dish - bland. Not sure what herb or spice to liven up. Perhaps, mint or a bit of mint jelly in the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
LOVED this recipe. I used two packs of brown sauce with 3/4 water suggested, with a little brown cheese added, so didnt add any salt of pepper as enough flavour in the brown sauce. I used 6 small potatoes and three carrots. I also used raw lamb chops so cooke din the oven for two hours. Was sooo good with flatbrød and cranberry jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Cooked this dish last night using left over lamb - WOW - wonderful tastes. I added two mushrooms. I will definitely be cooking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Very pleasantly surprised by this. I added some chopped carrot and celery in with the onion. I didn't peel the potatoes which gave some nice texture, and used about twice the amount of gravy which the recipe called for. Turned a left over lamb leg into a hearty meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I was pleasantly suprised, first time I have tried making this dish and it came out delicious. The bacon definately gives this dish a lot of flavour - so dont skimp on the bacon. I followed the recipe mostly, using "BISTO" for homemade gravy and only added sliced carrots,peas & corn - the gravy was a perfect consistency, not too runny or thick. Nice comfort food in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
added some mushrooms. Turned out a little soupy, but I didn't have a rectangular casserol dish with a lid so I had to use a circular one. Even with the circular dish being bigger than it was suppose to be I would recommend using a rectangular one and just using tin foil to cover. It was still a fabulous way to reuse my lamb tho. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was fantastic! The lamb I used was a bit tough (haven't had the best luck with the recipe I used to cook it in the first place, but gets unique flavor that I like) but this recipe turned the lamb to butter! It was amazing. I followed another reviewers advice and simmered the lamb in beef stock then used that to make the gravy. I made the mistake of thinking my bacon was too thick and so used half of it but my husband and I both wished it had more bacon. It was amazing. The potatoes had great flavor, the lamb was just as tender as could be, the onions provided a nice bit of flavor periodically, and the gravy was great (which is interesting coming from me, considering I generally hate gravy). We will make this often and enjoy it each time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States