True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I've been making this pie for over 30 years and it's never failed to be enjoyed! It's simple preparation is a bonus to a great dessert. It needs NO tweeking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This pie was delicious! It was very simple to make. I made it in a stoneware pie pan, so it took about 10 minutes longer to cook (after the topping was addend) than the recipe called for. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This lucious, creamy, mouth watering pie was a big hit for my family. I cannot explain how wonderful it was. You will just have to try it out. You will NOT be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I made this exactly as written, and it was perfect. I brought it to a birthday party, and people raved and said that it was the best blueberry pie they've ever had! Please use fresh blueberries! Also, I only had whole pecans, so I ground them in the food processor, and the pieces ended up smaller than regular chopped pecans. Next time I will use half chopped pecans and half smaller pecans ground in the food processor--I think that will make a really crunchy topping! Thank you for a great recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
There were no fresh blueberries at the store so I had to use frozen. Even so, it was so good I can't imagine it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This pie is awesome! Very easy and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magoo
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Probably one of the best pies that has ever been made. It is so delicious and easy. Absolutely everyone who tried it loved it. I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I just made this the other day and OMG it is delicious!. I wasn't going to use the pecans because I didn't have any but decided to wait a day and get a tiny bag in the baking section of the store. The crunch it gives to the topping is perfect. Wonderful with a little ice cream on top as well as plain. Definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Fabulous and easy! I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream (since I had none of that on hand), and the results were scrumptious! The taste and pop of the fresh berries comes through wonderfully...not overcooked, not mushy. The "custard" is light and smooth, not overly eggy (maybe that's what the other reviewer expected). Great warm, but keeps nicely in the fridge. You can zap pieces in the micro to warm if desired. Put this together in a snap, all by hand. No need for the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjns
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This pie was super easy and delicious! I followed the recipe just used splenda and light sour cream. The cooking time is perfect! Thank you Nonnie Z for a wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States