True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Oustanding! Perfect texture and flavor - not overly sweet, full-on blueberry-ful. I increased the filling by 1/2 (using 1/2 of a beaten egg) to fill a deep-dish pie pan, so mine needed about 15 minutes longer baking time. This sets and slices beautifully when chilled (I didn't serve any until I chilled it, so I'm not sure how it does warm). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was big on flavor but short on looks in my view, particularly the topping. Hubs really enjoyed it, however, describing it as full of blueberry flavor and pleasantly sweet, and in my book that's what counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was incredibly simple to make and very delicious. The center wasn't set at all when I pulled it out after 25 minutes to add the topping, so I baked for an additional 10 minutes before adding the topping. Also, one of my dinner guests is allergic to tree nuts, so I substituted brown sugar for the pecans, and it was still very flavorful and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I've been making this pie for over 30 years and it's never failed to be enjoyed! It's simple preparation is a bonus to a great dessert. It needs NO tweeking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Big TY to Janpie for showing me this recipe...It is as delicious as she said and then some...Doubled the recipe and made 2 pies for two reasons, SOOOO many fresh blueberries and SOOOO many teens to feed, 7 at the time...both pies were gone in the blink of an eye...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This lucious, creamy, mouth watering pie was a big hit for my family. I cannot explain how wonderful it was. You will just have to try it out. You will NOT be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This pie was super easy and delicious! I followed the recipe just used splenda and light sour cream. The cooking time is perfect! Thank you Nonnie Z for a wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I just made this the other day and OMG it is delicious!. I wasn't going to use the pecans because I didn't have any but decided to wait a day and get a tiny bag in the baking section of the store. The crunch it gives to the topping is perfect. Wonderful with a little ice cream on top as well as plain. Definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Fabulous and easy! I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream (since I had none of that on hand), and the results were scrumptious! The taste and pop of the fresh berries comes through wonderfully...not overcooked, not mushy. The "custard" is light and smooth, not overly eggy (maybe that's what the other reviewer expected). Great warm, but keeps nicely in the fridge. You can zap pieces in the micro to warm if desired. Put this together in a snap, all by hand. No need for the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjns
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I made this exactly as written, and it was perfect. I brought it to a birthday party, and people raved and said that it was the best blueberry pie they've ever had! Please use fresh blueberries! Also, I only had whole pecans, so I ground them in the food processor, and the pieces ended up smaller than regular chopped pecans. Next time I will use half chopped pecans and half smaller pecans ground in the food processor--I think that will make a really crunchy topping! Thank you for a great recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States