True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Nice way to use up a bounty of blueberries. You can't ask for an easier recipe, especially if you use a refrigerated pie crust. I baked it as directed and as others stated it didn't test done, but I took it out anyway and it solidified on standing. I thought it was tasty--my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I made this recipe last night and it was fantastic! My husband loooved it! I used a thin granola pie crust and looked very beautiful and elegant. Super simple and easy to make it. Good recipe for fresh blueberries! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAndriuz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I took this to a dinner party last night. Everyone loved it. The streusel on top was fantastic and really added to the over-all yumminess. I did make more streusel than called for, and toasted the pecans first. I cut the sugar in the pie down by a third. I'm not a sweet sweet lover and found this to be perfect. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I doubled the recipe and made 2 pies. The pie is delicious. Followed the directions exactly. I did bake it longer than stated, 60 minutes and I had to put aluminum foil around the edge of the pie crust to prevent it from burning. When I put a knife in the middle to test it, the knife kept coming out with a soupy liquid on it, but Keri suggested it may set when it cools and she was right. This is a great recipe and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Big TY to Janpie for showing me this recipe...It is as delicious as she said and then some...Doubled the recipe and made 2 pies for two reasons, SOOOO many fresh blueberries and SOOOO many teens to feed, 7 at the time...both pies were gone in the blink of an eye...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Excellent recipe as is. Have also played around: 1. used the crunch topping on other similar pies; 2. subbed meringue for crunch topping; 3. added a healthy size TBLS of lemon zest to cream filling (Lemon/blueberry combo is personal favorite). All great. Obviously, I've made this several times. The first time, it was gone in less than 24 hours. Made great breakfast! (It has fruit & eggs so it counts.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wonderful. I made the pie exactly as the recipe called for and it was perfect. I am not a big fan of blueberry pie but this was not too sweet and with the crunch of the pecans it had nice contrasts in flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This pie was fantastic! It was the perfect balance of sweet and tart, easy to make, and my family loved it. I used plain yogurt in place of the sour cream and added a little cinnamon to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This pie was absolutely excellent. The prep was extremely easy and the pie has a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good and so easy to make. The fact that it calls itself a "custard" pie is misleading I think. There is only one egg and altho delish, it doesn't have the typical custard consistency. I used almonds instead of pecans because that was all I had....I agree you need the nuts for the crunch on top. It was so lovely from the oven I took a picture of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIBAG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States