True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I made this recipe last night and it was fantastic! My husband loooved it! I used a thin granola pie crust and looked very beautiful and elegant. Super simple and easy to make it. Good recipe for fresh blueberries! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAndriuz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I took this to a dinner party last night. Everyone loved it. The streusel on top was fantastic and really added to the over-all yumminess. I did make more streusel than called for, and toasted the pecans first. I cut the sugar in the pie down by a third. I'm not a sweet sweet lover and found this to be perfect. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I doubled the recipe and made 2 pies. The pie is delicious. Followed the directions exactly. I did bake it longer than stated, 60 minutes and I had to put aluminum foil around the edge of the pie crust to prevent it from burning. When I put a knife in the middle to test it, the knife kept coming out with a soupy liquid on it, but Keri suggested it may set when it cools and she was right. This is a great recipe and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Big TY to Janpie for showing me this recipe...It is as delicious as she said and then some...Doubled the recipe and made 2 pies for two reasons, SOOOO many fresh blueberries and SOOOO many teens to feed, 7 at the time...both pies were gone in the blink of an eye...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Excellent recipe as is. Have also played around: 1. used the crunch topping on other similar pies; 2. subbed meringue for crunch topping; 3. added a healthy size TBLS of lemon zest to cream filling (Lemon/blueberry combo is personal favorite). All great. Obviously, I've made this several times. The first time, it was gone in less than 24 hours. Made great breakfast! (It has fruit & eggs so it counts.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wonderful. I made the pie exactly as the recipe called for and it was perfect. I am not a big fan of blueberry pie but this was not too sweet and with the crunch of the pecans it had nice contrasts in flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This pie was fantastic! It was the perfect balance of sweet and tart, easy to make, and my family loved it. I used plain yogurt in place of the sour cream and added a little cinnamon to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This pie was absolutely excellent. The prep was extremely easy and the pie has a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good and so easy to make. The fact that it calls itself a "custard" pie is misleading I think. There is only one egg and altho delish, it doesn't have the typical custard consistency. I used almonds instead of pecans because that was all I had....I agree you need the nuts for the crunch on top. It was so lovely from the oven I took a picture of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIBAG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was a big hit with my father-in-law and husband. MY FIL said it was the best one I have made (and I make a lot of pies). I really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States