True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Nice texture, but not sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Baker Beth
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
From the reviews, it looks like you all love this pie as much as I do. When I posted this recipe, I forgot to mention that I add 2 teaspoons of Chinese Five Spice or Cake Spice to the topping. It gives it that extra zing! Thank you all for reviewing so warmly! Nonnie Z
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Absolutely the best dessert! I'll be making this again and again. I used frozen blueberries, frozen pie crusts, omitted the pecans, and upped the flour/sugar to make up for the missing nuts. Amazing! I didn't even dirty my mixer, just mixed by hand. Can I say more? My new favorite! UPDATE: I used a crust made of 6 oz cream cheese, 1 c. butter and 2 cups flour. Chill at least an hour or up to a week. Roll dough fairly thick and place in pan. Trim edge leaving an inch or so around. Fold under and flute edge so it stands up a bit to hold more filling. I doubled the filling and most of it fit. I baked the rest in a custard cup, lined with trimmed pie crust. The pie took quite a long time to bake - I'm guessing over an hour. Bake until the center is set, then top with crumble. The crumble seemed like it had too much butter, so I added about 2 T. more each of flour, sugar and pecans. Bake until browned - using the broiler if needed. The crust baked up nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
So yummy with or without the pecans. Not all my family loves nuts so I have to make it without sometimes. Number 1 recipe on my list for this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made this pie today and my husband loved it! I used 150 grams of blueberries; less than the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I have my own blueberry bushes so I needed to use up what I had in the freezer before my new crop comes in this year. I made this last night and it was great. I had to cook about 10-15 minutes longer only because my berries were frozen. My husband loved it. This is definitely a keeper. The topping compliments the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a very good pie! I made it with frozen blueberries (fresh are out of season here, and super expensive) and it turned out just fine. I really liked it, as did some of my siblings. My dad, however, preferred my usual blueberry pie recipe, so I suppose that this isn't for everyone. Other than using the frozen berries, I made this exactly as written. If I make it again, I will probably use less vanilla and add some cinnamon to both the filling and topping. I felt that the combination of flavors and textures were awesome in this pie...the topping really made it special. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Brandy27
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Delicious! perfect summer pie when served cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiffscookin
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Very nice. My first fresh blueberry dessert, made at my daughters request. I served it warm with vanilla bean ice cream and homemade whipped cream. Delicious. Increased topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My family loved this it was very easy to make and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ionia, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States