True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
So yummy with or without the pecans. Not all my family loves nuts so I have to make it without sometimes. Number 1 recipe on my list for this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made this pie today and my husband loved it! I used 150 grams of blueberries; less than the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I have my own blueberry bushes so I needed to use up what I had in the freezer before my new crop comes in this year. I made this last night and it was great. I had to cook about 10-15 minutes longer only because my berries were frozen. My husband loved it. This is definitely a keeper. The topping compliments the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a very good pie! I made it with frozen blueberries (fresh are out of season here, and super expensive) and it turned out just fine. I really liked it, as did some of my siblings. My dad, however, preferred my usual blueberry pie recipe, so I suppose that this isn't for everyone. Other than using the frozen berries, I made this exactly as written. If I make it again, I will probably use less vanilla and add some cinnamon to both the filling and topping. I felt that the combination of flavors and textures were awesome in this pie...the topping really made it special. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Brandy27
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Delicious! perfect summer pie when served cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiffscookin
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Very nice. My first fresh blueberry dessert, made at my daughters request. I served it warm with vanilla bean ice cream and homemade whipped cream. Delicious. Increased topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My family loved this it was very easy to make and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made this as one of my mom's b-day pies. This has been getting a lot of attention on the RE and I'd been looking forward to trying it out. Our 6 year old niece deemed it her favorite of the 3 and everyone else seemed to enjoy it, too. I followed the recipe, though I did have to sub frozen blueberries for fresh due to seasonality. I also subbed almonds for pecans per personal preference. I have to rate it "4" because the baking time was substantially off for me. I baked per the recipe and when I went to pack the pie realized it was SUPER un-set, so I actually placed it back in the oven (for about 20 min) to set up. If I make this again, I will prob make 1.5X the amount of topping, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Very good, everyone loved it even better the next day with coffee for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This pie is so good that it should be illegal! I left the nuts out because I don't like them and used fat free sour cream and it still turned out unbelievably delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States