True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
absolutely wonderful!!! did have to cook a little longer to get the middle to set. i had to give some away to keep from eating it all myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I took this to a 4th of July party and people raved about it. I followed the directions exactly except for the baking - mine took probably 15 min longer (10 longer for the first bake and then 5 longer for the topping). The only thing I'd do differently next time is make 2 pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
A little different and very good. My son-in-law does not care for nuts in desserts so I substituted toffee bits for the pecans which made it a little sweeter but very nice flavor. Next time I'll cut the sugar in the topping to balance it. I also baked it a bit longer to make the topping nice and crunchy and it was even after being refrigerated. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was my first attempt at a blueberry pie since I needed to use up my blueberries before they went bad. Let me just say YUMMY!! This is a hit and I will definitely make again!! I didn't change a thing and made recipe as is. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This pie is outstanding! I made as written using a homemade pie crust and it turned out wonderful. The creamy, custardy filling contrasts nicely with the bluberries and the cooking time was right on. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by caitjane1
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Amazing and easy pie! i added a cup of raspberries and doubled the crumb topping and it turned out great! However, i had to double the cooking time because it wouldn't set, but that was my only obstacle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitjane1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coronado, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is very tasty. I followed the recipe as written except that I didn't have the full amount of sour cream on hand so I used half sour cream and half cream cheese. We served it cold and at room temperature and it was great either way. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
A SUPER easy, awesome dessert! Here are the things I did differently . . . 1. I used about 1 1/2 cups of fresh blueberries and about 1 cup of fresh blackberries. The store didn't have enough blueberries :) I cut the larger blackberries in half as well. I think that any combination of berry would have been great with this pie (as long as you don't mind the seeds from the blackberries, etc). 2. Used a frozen (but thawed) 9 inch deep dish pie crust. I thought about increasing the filling but didn't have enough sour cream so I just used the original amount. It worked out just fine! 3. Used lite sour cream. 4. I did use pecans for the topping but you really wouldn't have to. I don't know if I would add them again. 5. Covered the crust of my pie with tin foil so it wouldn't burn after I add the crumble topping. Baked until the crumble topping was a golden brown and the center looked set -- this took longer than the 15 minutes. 6. The pie was pretty good warm but AWESOME the next day cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is really good. Just the right amount of sweetness and loads of blueberry flavor. And it was super easy to put together. I did use frozen berries since that is what I had on hand. Also the crumb topping that I made just kind of sunk down into the pie when I put it on top. Don't think its the recipe, I have never been able to make a good crumb topping. :( But it was good anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Nice texture, but not sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States