True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was an awesome pie. It's a lot quicker to get in the oven than a traditional blueberry pie and only dirties a mixing bowl, so I doubt I'll even go the boil-with-cornstarch route anymore. It's so creamy and refreshing with the dairy, and the fresh blueberry taste comes through perfectly. I'll probably try with other fruit too. For my preference I'll use brown sugar in the topping but that's all I would change, thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great Pie! I am on my 3rd version this summer. I have added more blueberries, used splenda and whole wheat pastry flour and lite sour cream...just delicious! None of my guests have ever suspected that I made it a bit healthier. I make Martha Stewarts "Easy Pie Crust", just because I prefer a butter crust versus oil/shortening. TRY THIS RECIPE---EASY AND DELICIOUS FOR LESS SKILLED BAKERS! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
OH MY! This was heaven on a plate! I used a frozen pie crust and I changed the topping a little. I didn't add pecans, but I did add 1 T. flour, 1 T. white sugar, 2 T. brown sugar and 2 T. oats...it made the perfect streusal topping. I had to bake the filling for 33 minutes and then 15 for the topping. I can't wait to try other fruits with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I made this for my brother's birthday because he loves blueberry pie. He thought this was great and everyone else did too. I made the recipe as directed, except I realized too late that I didn't have any walnuts, so I followed the advice of another reviewer and subbed in brown sugar instead. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Tastes good both warm and chiled. I'd add extra blueberries next time; plenty as writte, I just love blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
YUM!! I really love this pie, and it was very easy to make - we'll definitely have this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Yum! I had to bake it for about 15 minutes longer than it said, but it turned out perfectly! I love regular blueberry pie, but I like this better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very yummy. The crumbles make the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was big on flavor but short on looks in my view, particularly the topping. Hubs really enjoyed it, however, describing it as full of blueberry flavor and pleasantly sweet, and in my book that's what counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I'm a fan. Did a homemade oil crust and omitted pecans in topping because I didn't have any, but even without, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States